Select Committee on Science and Technology

No. 41 of Session 2006-07  23 May 2007



The Science and Technology Committee will hold its third evidence session in this inquiry on Wednesday 13 June at 9.30am in Committee Room 8 when evidence will be heard from:

At 9.30am

Mr Ian Gallett, Executive Secretary, Society for Underwater Technology (SUT)

Dr Lesley Thompson, Director, Research and Innovation, Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC)

Dr Ralph Rayner, Vice President, Institute of Marine Engineering, Science and Technology (IMarEST)

Mr Richard Burt, Member, Executive Committee, Association of Marine Scientific Industries (AMSI)

For further information please call Ana Ferreira, on 020 7219 2793.

Previous press notices and publications are available on our website

Notes to editors:

• Under the terms of Standing Order No. 152 the Science and Technology Committee is empowered to examine the “expenditure, policy and administration of the Office of Science and Innovation and its associated public bodies”. The Committee was appointed on 19 July 2005.

• This inquiry was announced on 27 November 2006 in Press notice No 3 of session 2006-07

• Evidence session were held on Tuesday 1 May when evidence was heard from: The Inter-Agency Committee on Marine Science and Technology (IACMST); the Natural Environment Research Council; and Professor Gideon Henderson, Department of Earth Sciences, University of Oxford, and on Wednesday 16 May when evidence was heard from: Centre for Environment, Fisheries & Aquaculture Science (Cefas), UK Hydrographic Office, Met Office, Proudman Oceanographic Laboratory, National Oceanography Centre, Southampton, and Challenger Society for Marine Science

 Membership of the Committee

Mr Phil Willis (Lib Dem, Harrogate and Knaresborough)(Chairman)
Adam Afriyie (Con, Windsor)
Mr Robert Flello (Lab, Stoke-on-Trent South)
Linda Gilroy (Lab/Co-op, Plymouth Sutton)
Dr Evan Harris (Lib Dem, Oxford West & Abingdon)
Dr Brian Iddon (Lab, Bolton South East)
Chris Mole (Lab, Ipswich)
Mr Brooks Newmark (Con, Braintree)
Graham Stringer (Lab, Manchester, Blackley)
Bob Spink (Con, Castle Point)
Dr Desmond Turner (Lab, Brighton Kemptown)