No. 34 of Session 2004-05 22 March 2005



The Science and Technology Committee will publish its Seventh Report of Session 2004-05, Forensic Science on Trial, (HC 96-I), at 0001hours on Tuesday 29 March 2005. 

Electronic embargoed copies will be available from 10.00am on Monday 28 March to members of the press and to those who gave evidence upon request. Requests should be emailed to by 12.00 noon on Thursday 24 March.

Paper copies of the Report will be available for collection from 7 Millbank, entrance via Dean Stanley Street, from 10.00am on the day of publication.

Copies of the Report can also be obtained from TSO outlets and from the Parliamentary Bookshop, 12 Bridge Street, Parliament Square, London SW1A 2JX (020 7219 3890) by quoting the appropriate HC number from the day of publication.

The text of the Report will also be available via the Committee’s internet homepage:

  For further information please call Ana Ferreira, on 020 7219 2793.

Previous press notices and publications are available on our website.

Notes for Editors

• Under the terms of Standing Order No. 152 the Committee is empowered to examine the “expenditure, policy and administration of the Office of Science and Technology and its associated public bodies. The Committee was appointed on 12 November 2001.

• The Committee announced this inquiry on 21 July 2004 in press notice No 64 of Session 2003-04.

• The Committee took evidence from the Home Office and the Forensic Science Service on 15 December 2004; the Council for the Registration of Forensic Practitioners, Forensic Science Society, Forensic Alliance, LGC, Prospect and PCS on 12 January 2005; Association of Chief Police Officers and academics on the 26 January; Crown Prosecution Service, Bar Council and a Crown Court Judge on 31 January; and the Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State for Reducing Organised and International Crime, Anti-drugs Co-Ordination and International and European Unit, Home Office, on 9 February.

• Membership of the Committee

Dr Ian Gibson (Lab, Norwich North) (Chairman)
Mr Tony McWalter (Lab, Hemel Hempstead)
Paul Farrelly (Lab, Newcastle-under-Lyme)
Dr Andrew Murrison (Con, Westbury)
Dr Evan Harris (Lib Dem, Oxford West & Abingdon)
Geraldine Smith (Lab, Morecambe and Lunesdale)
Kate Hoey (Lab, Vauxhall)
Bob Spink (Con, Castle Point)
Dr Brian Iddon (Lab, Bolton South East)
Dr Desmond Turner (Lab, Brighton Kemptown)
Mr Robert Key (Con, Salisbury)