Select Committee on Science and Technology

No. 4 of Session 2005-06 21 July 2005


Carbon Capture and Storage Technology

The Science and Technology Committee is to conduct an inquiry into carbon capture and storage (CCS) technology.

The Committee is inviting evidence on the following points:

1.    The viability of CCS as a carbon abatement technology for the UK, in terms of:

  • The current state of R&D in, and deployment of, CCS technologies;

  • Projected timescales for producing market-ready, scalable technologies;

  • Cost;

  • Geophysical feasibility;

  • Other obstacles or constraints.

2. The UK Government's role in funding CCS R&D and providing incentives for technology transfer and industrial R&D in CCS technology.

The Committee would welcome written evidence from interested organisations and individuals addressing these points. Evidence should be submitted by Friday 30 September. Oral evidence sessions will begin in November.

For further information please call Ana Ferreira, on 020 7219 2793. Previous press notices and publications are available on our website.

Guidelines for the submission of evidence

Evidence should be submitted in Word formats, and should be sent by e-mail to The body of the e-mail must include a contact name, telephone number and postal address. The e-mail should also make clear who the submission is from.

Submissions should be as brief as possible, and certainly no more than 3,000 words. Paragraphs should be numbered for ease of reference, and the document should include a brief executive summary. Those submitting evidence are reminded that evidence should be original work, not previously published or circulated elsewhere. Once submitted no public use should be made of it, but those wishing to publish their evidence before it is published by the Committee are invited to contact the Clerk of the Committee to obtain permission to do so. Guidance on the submission of evidence can be found at

Notes to editors:

• Under the terms of Standing Order No. 152 the Science and Technology Committee is empowered to examine the "expenditure, policy and administration of the Office of Science and Technology and its associated public bodies". The Committee was appointed on 19 July 2005.

Membership of the Committee:

Mr Phil Willis (Lib Dem, Harrogate and Knaresborough)(Chairman)
Adam Afriyie (Con, Windsor)
Mr Robert Flello (Lab, Stoke-on-Trent South)
Dr Ian Gibson (Lab, Norwich North)
Dr Evan Harris (Lib Dem, Oxford West & Abingdon)
Dr Brian Iddon (Lab, Bolton South East)
Margaret Moran (Lab, Luton South)
Mr Brooks Newmark (Con, Braintree)
Anne Snelgrove (Lab/Co-op, South Swindon)
Bob Spink (Con, Castle Point)
Dr Desmond Turner (Lab, Brighton Kemptown)