Select Committee on Science and Technology

No.47 of Session 2005-06 21 June 2006



The Science and Technology Committee will publish its Fourth Report of Session 2005-06, Watching the Directives: Scientific Advice on the EU Physical Agents (Electromagnetic Fields) Directive, [HC 1030], at 00.01 on Thursday 29 June 2006.

Embargoed electronic copies of the Report will be available from 10.00am on Tuesday 27 June to members of the press and those who gave evidence upon request. Requests should be emailed to by 12.00 noon on Monday 26 June.

Copies of the Report can be obtained from TSO outlets and from the Parliamentary Bookshop, 12 Bridge Street, Parliament Square, London SW1A 2JX (020 7219 3890) by quoting the appropriate HC number from the day of publication.

The text of the Report will be available via the Committee's internet homepage from the time of publication.

For media inquiries please call Laura Kibby on 020 7219 0718. For any other information please call Ana Ferreira, on 020 7219 2793Previous press notices and publications are available on our website.

Notes to editors:

€ Under the terms of Standing Order No. 152 the Science and Technology Committee is empowered to examine the "expenditure, policy and administration of the Office of Science and Technology and its associated public bodies". The Committee was appointed on 19 July 2005.

€ This inquiry was announced on 9 November 2005 in Press Notice No 9 of session 2005-06.

€ Evidence sessions were held on Wednesday: 15 February when evidence was heard from the Government Chief Scientific Adviser and the Chief Government Social Researcher; on 1 and 22 March when evidence was heard from ACMD and the Home Office; on 26 April when evidence was heard from Experts and Lobby Groups; on 3, 10, 11,17 and 24 May when evidence was heard from biometrics and IT experts from industry and academia; the Food Standards Agency; officials from the European Commission; the Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State for Work and Pensions, the Health Protection Agency, the Health and Safety Executive and academics; The Royal Society, The Royal Society of Chemistry, Campaign for Science and Engineering, Biosciences Federation and academics; 7 June when evidence was heard from the Head of the Government Economic Service and the Chief Scientific Advisers to DfID, Home Office and DfT.

Membership of the Committee

Mr Phil Willis (Lib Dem, Harrogate and Knaresborough)(Chairman)
Adam Afriyie (Con, Windsor)
Mr Robert Flello (Lab, Stoke-on-Trent South)
Mr Jim Devine (Lab, Livingston)
Dr Evan Harris (Lib Dem, Oxford West & Abingdon)
Dr Brian Iddon (Lab, Bolton South East)
Margaret Moran (Lab, Luton South)
Mr Brooks Newmark (Con, Braintree)
Anne Snelgrove (Lab/Co-op, South Swindon)
Bob Spink (Con, Castle Point)
Dr Desmond Turner (Lab, Brighton Kemptown)