No. 27 of Session 2004-05 21 February 2005


Strategic science provision in English universities

The Science and Technology Committee will hold the following evidence sessions as part of its inquiry into strategic science provision in English universities:

Monday 28 February 2005 in Committee Room 8

evidence will be heard from:

at 4.15 pm

Professor Ian Diamond, Chief Executive, Economic and Social Research Council, representing Research Councils UK
Professor Sir Keith O'Nions, Director General of the Research Councils, DTI

and at 5.15 pm

Nick Buckland, Vice Chair, South West of England Regional Development Agency (SWRDA)
Ed Metcalfe, Head of Science, Technology, Entrepreneurship and Management, South East England Development Agency (SEEDA)
Dr Bob Bushaway, Association for University Research and Industry Links (AURIL)

Wednesday 2 March 2005 in Committee Room 8

After Science Question Time, evidence will be heard from:

At 10.15 am Learned Societies

Professor Bob Boucher, Fellow, Royal Academy of Engineering
Dr Simon Campbell, President, Royal Society of Chemistry
Professor Peter Main, Director, Education and Science, Institute of Physics
Professor Sir Tom Blundell, President, Biosciences Federation
Professor Amanda Chetwynd, Vice President, London Mathematical Society

at 11.00am Association of University Teachers (AUT)

Professor Richard Bruckdorfer, Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, University College London, and President of University College London AUT Branch
Malcolm Keight, AUT Deputy General Secretary

In the last evidence session for this inquiry, on Wednesday 9 March 2005, the Committee will hear evidence from university Vice Chancellors and from Dr Kim Howells MP, Minister of State, Department for Education and Skills.

A press notice will be issued in due course with full details.

For further information, please ring Ana Ferreira on 020 7219 2793

Previous press notices and publications are available on our website:

Notes for those wishing to attend a public meeting of the Committee

Members of the public wishing to attend should present themselves at St Stephen's Entrance, or Portcullis House if appropriate, where they will be directed through security and to the appropriate Committee Room.  It is advisable to allow about 15 minutes for this. It is possible for the Committee Room designated for the hearing to change at short notice, but such room changes will be clearly  indicated.  Please ensure that mobile phones and pagers are turned off before entering the Committee Room.  Under no circumstances should members of the public address the Committee while in session.  It is not possible for seats to be reserved in the Committee Room but every effort is made to ensure sufficient seating.  Standing in Committee Rooms is permitted at the discretion of the Chairman.  Those attending meetings are asked to remain silent throughout.

Notes for Editors

• Under the terms of Standing Order No. 152 the Committee is empowered to examine the "expenditure, policy and administration of the Office of Science and Technology and its associated public bodies. The Committee was appointed on 12 November 2001.

• The Committee announced this inquiry on 21 December 2004 in press notice No 12 of Session 2004-05 and held the first evidence session on Monday 7 February, where evidence was heard from: university students, the Higher Education Policy Institute and the Higher Education Funding Council for England.

Membership of the Committee

Dr Ian Gibson (Lab, Norwich North) (Chairman)
Mr Tony McWalter (Lab, Hemel Hempstead)
Paul Farrelly (Lab, Newcastle-under-Lyme)
Dr Andrew Murrison (Con, Westbury)
Dr Evan Harris (Lib Dem, Oxford West & Abingdon)
Geraldine Smith (Lab, Morecambe and Lunesdale)
Kate Hoey (Lab, Vauxhall)
Bob Spink (Con, Castle Point)
Dr Brian Iddon (Lab, Bolton South East)
Dr Desmond Turner (Lab, Brighton Kemptown)
Mr Robert Key (Con, Salisbury)