No.17 of Session 2004-05 20 January 2005



The Science and Technology Committee will publish its Third Report of Session 2004B05, Office of Science and Technology: Scrutiny report 2004  (HC 8), at 11.00am on Monday 31 January 2005, without embargoed copies.

The Report examines the work, strategy and expenditure plans of the Office of Science and Technology (OST). It fulfils the Committee’s undertaking to publish an annual scrutiny report on OST.

Copies of the Report will be available for collection in reception at 7 Millbank from the time of publication. Copies of the Report can also be obtained from TSO outlets and from the Parliamentary Bookshop, 12 Bridge Street, Parliament Square, London SW1A 2JX (020 7219 3890) by quoting the appropriate HC number. The text of the Report will also be available via the Committee=s internet homepage:

For further information please call Ana Ferreira, on 020 7219 2793. Previous press notices and publications are available on our website.

Notes for Editors

• Under the terms of Standing Order No. 152 the Committee is empowered to examine the “expenditure, policy and administration of the Office of Science and Technology and its associated public bodies@. The Committee was appointed on 12 November 2001.

• The Committee held six evidence session, 9 February, 12 May, 14 July and 1 December, when evidence was heard in “Science Question Time” from Lord Sainsbury of Turville, Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State for Science and Innovation; 14 July, when evidence was heard from Rt Hon Patricia Hewitt MP, Secretary of State for Trade and Industry; and 1 November, when evidence was heard from Rt Hon Paul Boateng MP, Chief Secretary, HM Treasury, Dr Kim Howells MP, Minister of State, Department for Education and Skills, and Lord Sainsbury of Turville.

Membership of the Committee

Dr Ian Gibson (Lab, Norwich North) (Chairman)
Mr Tony McWalter (Lab, Hemel Hempstead)
Paul Farrelly (Lab, Newcastle-under-Lyme)
Dr Andrew Murrison (Con, Westbury)
Dr Evan Harris (Lib Dem, Oxford West & Abingdon)
Geraldine Smith (Lab, Morecambe and Lunesdale)
Kate Hoey (Lab, Vauxhall)
Bob Spink (Con, Castle Point)
Dr Brian Iddon (Lab, Bolton South East)
Dr Desmond Turner (Lab, Brighton Kemptown)
Mr Robert Key (Con, Salisbury)