Select Committee on Science and Technology

No.17 of Session 2005-06 19 January 2006


Wednesday 25 January 2006

As part of its ongoing scrutiny of the Office of Science and Technology the Science and Technology Committee will hold its second “Science Question Time” of session 2005-06 with the Minister for Science and Innovation, Lord Sainsbury of Turville from 9.30am to 10.10am in Committee Room 8.

Lord Sainsbury will answer the questions listed below. There will also be supplementary questions from Committee Members on each subject.


1) What role is OST playing in the current energy review?

Peer review

2) Are you satisfied with the operation of current safeguards against the publication of misleading research?

Centre for Ecology and Hydrology

3) What consultations did you have with NERC prior to the recent announcement of closures at the Centre for Ecology and Hydrology?

Research & Development

4) What conclusions do you draw from DTI’s Autumn Performance Report for 2005 on the success of measures to encourage investment by industry in R&D?

For further information please call Ana Ferreira, on 020 7219 2793. Previous press notices and publications are available on our website.

 Notes for those wishing to attend a public meeting of the Committee

Members of the public wishing to attend should present themselves at St Stephen’s Entrance, where they will be directed through security and to the appropriate Committee Room.  It is advisable to allow about 20 minutes for this. It is possible for the Committee Room designated for the hearing to change at short notice, but such room changes will be clearly  indicated.  Please ensure that mobile phones and pagers are turned off before entering the Committee Room.  Under no circumstances should members of the public address the Committee while in session.  It is not possible for seats to be reserved in the Committee Room but every effort is made to ensure sufficient seating.  Standing in Committee Rooms is permitted at the discretion of the Chairman.  Those attending meetings are asked to remain silent throughout.

Notes to editors:

• Under the terms of Standing Order No. 152 the Science and Technology Committee is empowered to examine the “expenditure, policy and administration of the Office of Science and Technology and its associated public bodies”. The Committee was appointed on 19 July 2005.

• The last evidence session was held on Wednesday 19 October 2005.

Membership of the Committee

Mr Phil Willis (Lib Dem, Harrogate and Knaresborough)(Chairman)
Adam Afriyie (Con, Windsor)
Mr Robert Flello (Lab, Stoke-on-Trent South)
Dr Ian Gibson (Lab, Norwich North)
Dr Evan Harris (Lib Dem, Oxford West & Abingdon)
Dr Brian Iddon (Lab, Bolton South East)
Margaret Moran (Lab, Luton South)
Mr Brooks Newmark (Con, Braintree)
Anne Snelgrove (Lab/Co-op, South Swindon)
Bob Spink (Con, Castle Point)
Dr Desmond Turner (Lab, Brighton Kemptown)