No.16 of Session 2004-05 19 January 2005


The Science and Technology Committee will publish its Second Special Report of Session 2004-05, The Use of Science in UK International Development Policy: Government Response to the Committee's Thirteenth Report of Session 2003-04 (HC 235) at 11.00am on Monday 24 January 2005 without embargoed copies.

Copies of the Report will be available for collection in reception at 7 Millbank from the time of publication.

Copies of the Report can also be obtained from TSO outlets and from the Parliamentary Bookshop, 12 Bridge Street, Parliament Square, London SW1A 2JX (020 7219 3890) by quoting the appropriate HC number. The text of the Reports will also be available via the Committee's internet homepage:

For further information please call Ana Ferreira, on 020 7219 2793. Previous press notices and publications are available on our website.

Notes for Editors

• Under the terms of Standing Order No. 152 the Committee is empowered to examine the “expenditure, policy and administration of the Office of Science and Technology and its associated public bodies". The Committee was appointed on 12 November 2001.

• The Committee published its Thirteenth Report of Session 2003-04: The Use of Science in UK International Development Policy on 26 October 2004, [HC 133-I].

• The Committee held seven evidence sessions, 12 January, 23 February, 15 March, 26 April, 26 May, 9 June and 7 July 2004.

Membership of the Committee

Dr Ian Gibson (Lab, Norwich North) (Chairman)
Mr Tony McWalter (Lab, Hemel Hempstead)
Paul Farrelly (Lab, Newcastle-under-Lyme)
Dr Andrew Murrison (Con, Westbury)
Dr Evan Harris (Lib Dem, Oxford West & Abingdon)
Geraldine Smith (Lab, Morecambe and Lunesdale)
Kate Hoey (Lab, Vauxhall)
Bob Spink (Con, Castle Point)
Dr Brian Iddon (Lab, Bolton South East)
Dr Desmond Turner (Lab, Brighton Kemptown)
Mr Robert Key (Con, Salisbury)