Select Committee on Science and Technology

No.11 of Session 2005-06 18 November 2005



On 30 November 2005:

The Science and Technology Committee is holding an evidence session with representatives from the Medical Research Council to ask about the key findings of their recent visit to south-east Asia and to examine the MRC's contribution to research and development in this area.

The Committee will hear from:

Professor Colin Blakemore - MRC CEO;
Dr Alan Hay - Director, WHO Influenza Reference Centre at MRC NIMR;
Professor Andrew McMichael, Professor of Molecular Medicine, MRC Human Immunology Unit, University of Oxford;
Professor Anne Johnson - Deputy Chairman MRC Infections and Immunity Board (IIB), Department of Primary Care and Population Sciences University College London; and
Dr Xiaoning Xu - Senior Clinical Scientist, MRC Human Immunology Unit, University of Oxford

The evidence session will take place in Committee Room 8 at 9.45am.

For further information please call Ana Ferreira, on 020 7219 2793. Previous press notices and publications are available on our website.

Previous press notices and publications are available on our website.

Notes for those wishing to attend a public meeting of the Committee

Members of the public wishing to attend should present themselves at St Stephen's Entrance, where they will be directed through security and to the appropriate Committee Room.  It is advisable to allow about 15 minutes for this. It is possible for the Committee Room designated for the hearing to change at short notice, but such room changes will be clearly  indicated.  Please ensure that mobile phones and pagers are turned off before entering the Committee Room.  Under no circumstances should members of the public address the Committee while in session.  It is not possible for seats to be reserved in the Committee Room but every effort is made to ensure sufficient seating.  Standing in Committee Rooms is permitted at the discretion of the Chairman.  Those attending meetings are asked to remain silent throughout.

Notes to editors:

•Under the terms of Standing Order No. 152 the Science and Technology Committee is empowered to examine the "expenditure, policy and administration of the Office of Science and Technology and its associated public bodies". The Committee was appointed on 19 July 2005.

Membership of the Committee

Mr Phil Willis (Lib Dem, Harrogate and Knaresborough)(Chairman)
Adam Afriyie (Con, Windsor)
Mr Robert Flello (Lab, Stoke-on-Trent South)
Dr Ian Gibson (Lab, Norwich North)
Dr Evan Harris (Lib Dem, Oxford West & Abingdon)
Dr Brian Iddon (Lab, Bolton South East)
Margaret Moran (Lab, Luton South)
Mr Brooks Newmark (Con, Braintree)
Anne Snelgrove (Lab/Co-op, South Swindon)
Bob Spink (Con, Castle Point)
Dr Desmond Turner (Lab, Brighton Kemptown)