Select Committee on Science and Technology

No. 13 of Session 2006-07 18 January 2007



The Science and Technology Committee will hold its last evidence session in this inquiry on Wednesday 24 January 2007 when evidence will be heard from:

University College London (UCL)

Professor Malcolm Grant CBE, President and Provost; and

Professor Michael Spyer, Vice-Provost (Biomedicine)

The session will take place in Committee Room 8 at 11.00am.

For further information please call Ana Ferreira, on 020 7219 2793.

Previous press notices and publications are available on our website

Notes for those wishing to attend a public meeting of the Committee

Members of the public wishing to attend should present themselves at St Stephen’s Entrance, where they will be directed through security and to the appropriate Committee Room.  It is advisable to allow about 20 minutes for this. It is possible for the Committee Room designated for the hearing to change at short notice, but such room changes will be clearly  indicated.  Please ensure that mobile phones and pagers are turned off before entering the Committee Room.  Under no circumstances should members of the public address the Committee while in session. It is not possible for seats to be reserved in the Committee Room but every effort is made to ensure sufficient seating.  Standing in Committee Rooms is permitted at the discretion of the Chairman.  Those attending meetings are asked to remain silent throughout.

Notes to editors:

• Under the terms of Standing Order No. 152 the Science and Technology Committee is empowered to examine the “expenditure, policy and administration of the Office of Science and Technology and its associated public bodies”. The Committee was appointed on 19 July 2005.

• This inquiry was announced on 22 March 2006 in Press Notice No28 of session 2005-06.

• Evidence sessions in this inquiry were held on: Wednesday 28 June when evidence was heard from BBSRC, NERC and  MRC, Wednesday 1 November when evidence was heard from the Institute for Animal Health, Rothamsted Research, IGER (Institute of Grassland and Environmental Research), and the Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs, Tuesday 12 December when evidence was heard from the Tyndall Centre for Climate Change Research and the Centre for Ecology and Hydrology, and on Wednesday 13 December when evidence was heard from Unions representing staff at Mill Hill, the MRC and the Office of Science and Innovation.

Membership of the Committee:

Adam Afriyie (Con, Windsor)
Mr Robert Flello (Lab, Stoke-on-Trent South)
Mr Jim Devine (Lab, Livingston)
Dr Evan Harris (Lib Dem, Oxford West & Abingdon)
Dr Brian Iddon (Lab, Bolton South East)
Chris Mole (Lab, Ipswich)
Mr Brooks Newmark (Con, Braintree)
Graham Stringer (Lab, Manchester, Blackley)
Bob Spink (Con, Castle Point)
Dr Desmond Turner (Lab, Brighton Kemptown)