No. 10 of Session 2004-05 16 December 2004


Evidence Session

Monday 10 January 2005

In the last evidence session for this inquiry the Committee will hear from former members of the MRC Forward Investment Strategy Sub-committee and members of the MRC Task Force on NIMR:

At 3.30pm

Forward Investment Strategy Sub-committee:

Professor Nancy Rothwell, University of Manchester

Professor Alan North, Vice-President and Dean, Faculty of Life Sciences, University of Manchester

At 4.15pm

MRC Task Force members on the NIMR:

Professor Stephen Tomlinson, Vice Chancellor, University of Wales College of Medicine

Professor Kay Davies, Head, Department of Human Anatomy and Genetics, University of Oxford

For further information, please ring Ana Ferreira on 020 7219 2793

Previous press notices and publications are available on our website:

Notes for those wishing to attend a public meeting of the Committee

Members of the public wishing to attend this meeting should present themselves at Portcullis House where they will be directed through security and to the appropriate Committee Room.  It is advisable to allow about 15 minutes for this. It is possible for the Committee Room designated for the hearing to change at short notice, but such room changes will be clearly  indicated.  Please ensure that mobile phones and pagers are turned off before entering the Committee Room.  Under no circumstances should members of the public address the Committee while in session.  It is not possible for seats to be reserved in the Committee Room but every effort is made to ensure sufficient seating.  Standing in Committee Rooms is permitted at the discretion of the Chairman.  Those attending meetings are asked to remain silent throughout.

Notes for Editors

• Under the terms of Standing Order No. 152 the Committee is empowered to examine the “expenditure, policy and administration of the Office of Science and Technology and its associated public bodies@. The Committee was appointed on 12 November 2001.

• The Committee announced this inquiry on 20 October 2004 and held one evidence session with representatives from MRC and NIMR on 1 December. The transcript of this evidence session is available on the Committee’s website.  A subsequent evidence session with members of the MRC Task Force on NIMR was/will be held on 20 December 2004 in the Grimond room, Portcullis House at 3.30pm.

• The Committee aims to produce a Report before the MRC Council meeting on 9/10 February.

Membership of the Committee

Dr Ian Gibson (Lab, Norwich North) (Chairman)
Mr Tony McWalter (Lab, Hemel Hempstead)
Paul Farrelly (Lab, Newcastle-under-Lyme)
Dr Andrew Murrison (Con, Westbury)
Dr Evan Harris (Lib Dem, Oxford West & Abingdon)
Geraldine Smith (Lab, Morecambe and Lunesdale)
Kate Hoey (Lab, Vauxhall)
Bob Spink (Con, Castle Point)
Dr Brian Iddon (Lab, Bolton South East)
Dr Desmond Turner (Lab, Brighton Kemptown)
Mr Robert Key (Con, Salisbury)