Select Committee on Science and Technology

No. 26 of Session 2006-07 14 March 2007



The Science and Technology Committee will publish its Fourth Report of Session 2006-07, Research Council Institutes [HC 68], at 00.01 on Thursday 22 March 2007.

Embargoed electronic copies of the Report will be available upon request from 10.00am on Tuesday 20 March to members of the press and those who gave evidence to the inquiry.

Requests for embargoed copies of the Report should be emailed to  by 12.00 noon,  Monday 19 March 2007.

Copies of the Reports can be obtained from TSO outlets and from the Parliamentary Bookshop, 12 Bridge Street, Parliament Square, London SW1A 2JX (020 7219 3890) by quoting the appropriate HC number from the day of publication.

The text of the Report will be available via the Committee’s website:  from the time of publication.

For media inquiries please call Laura Kibby on 020 7219 0718. For any other information please call Ana Ferreira, on 020 7219 2793. Previous press notices and publications are available on our website.

Notes to editors:

• Under the terms of Standing Order No. 152 the Science and Technology Committee is empowered to examine the “expenditure, policy and administration of the Office of Science and Innovation and its associated public bodies”. The Committee was appointed on 19 July 2005.

• This inquiry was announced on 22 March 2006 in Press Notice No28 of session 2005-06.

• Evidence sessions in this inquiry were held on: Wednesday: 28 June when evidence was heard from BBSRC, NERC and  MRC; 1 November when evidence was heard from the Institute for Animal Health, Rothamsted Research, IGER (Institute of Grassland and Environmental Research), and the Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs; on Tuesday 12 December when evidence was heard from the Tyndall Centre for Climate Change Research and the Centre for Ecology and Hydrology; on Wednesday: 13 December when evidence was heard from Unions representing staff at Mill Hill, the MRC and the Office of Science and Innovation, and 24 January when evidence was heard from Professor Malcolm Grant CBE, President and Provost, and Professor Michael Spyer, Vice-Provost (Biomedicine), University College, London

Membership of the Committee

Mr Phil Willis (Lib Dem, Harrogate and Knaresborough)(Chairman)
Adam Afriyie (Con, Windsor)
Mr Robert Flello (Lab, Stoke-on-Trent South)
Linda Gilroy (Lab/Co-op, Plymouth Sutton)
Dr Evan Harris (Lib Dem, Oxford West & Abingdon)
Dr Brian Iddon (Lab, Bolton South East)
Chris Mole (Lab, Ipswich)
Mr Brooks Newmark (Con, Braintree)
Graham Stringer (Lab, Manchester, Blackley)
Bob Spink (Con, Castle Point)
Dr Desmond Turner (Lab, Brighton Kemptown)