Select Committee on Science and Technology

No. 27 of Session 2005-06 15 March 2006


The Science and Technology Committee decided at its meeting today to hold an evidence session on the changes to chemistry provision at the University of Sussex, announced in its press notice of 12 March.

Evidence will be heard from:

Professor Alasdair Smith, Vice Chancellor, University of Sussex;
Dr Gerry Lawless, Head of Chemistry Department; and
Mr Steve Egan, Acting Chief Executive, Higher Education Funding Council for England

The evidence session will take place at 5.15pm on Monday 27 March in Committee Room 8

For further information please call Ana Ferreira, on 020 7219 2793. Previous press notices and publications are available on our website.

Notes to editors:

€ Under the terms of Standing Order No. 152 the Science and Technology Committee is empowered to examine the "expenditure, policy and administration of the Office of Science and Technology and its associated public bodies". The Committee was appointed on 19 July 2005.

Membership of the Committee

Mr Phil Willis (Lib Dem, Harrogate and Knaresborough)(Chairman)
Adam Afriyie (Con, Windsor)
Mr Robert Flello (Lab, Stoke-on-Trent South)
Mr Jim Devine (Lab, Livingston)
Dr Evan Harris (Lib Dem, Oxford West & Abingdon)
Dr Brian Iddon (Lab, Bolton South East)
Margaret Moran (Lab, Luton South)
Mr Brooks Newmark (Con, Braintree)
Anne Snelgrove (Lab/Co-op, South Swindon)
Bob Spink (Con, Castle Point)
Dr Desmond Turner (Lab, Brighton Kemptown)