No. 44 of Session 2002-03, dated 12 October 2003



Monday 20 October 4.15 pm

DTI and Research Councils

AT 4.15PM

Mr Patrick McDonald, Director, Key Business Technologies Directorate, Innovation Group, Department of Trade and Industry

AT 5.15 PM (Approx)

Professor John O'Reilly, Chief Executive, Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council

Dr Clive Hayter, Programme Manager for Materials, Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council

Professor Colin Whitehouse, Director of Engineering Department, Council for the Central Laboratory of the Research Councils

Professor David White, Head of Science and Technology Group, Biotechnology and Biological Sciences Research Council

A representative from the Medical Research Council (tbc)

For further information, please ring the Committee staff on 020 7219 2793/4, or refer to the Committee Office Information Line on 020 7219 2033. 

Previous press notices and publications are available on our website:

  Notes for those wishing to attend a public meeting of the Committee

Members of the public wishing to attend should present themselves at St Stephen's Entrance, or Portcullis House if appropriate, where they will be directed through security and to the appropriate Committee Room.  It is advisable to allow about 15 minutes for this. It is possible for the Committee Room designated for the hearing to change at short notice, but such room changes will be clearly  indicated.  Please ensure that mobile phones and pagers are turned off before entering the Committee Room.  Under no circumstances should members of the public address the Committee while in session.  It is not possible for seats to be reserved in the Committee Room but every effort is made to ensure sufficient seating.  Standing in Committee Rooms is permitted at the discretion of the Chairman.  Those attending meetings are asked to remain silent throughout.

Notes for Editors

Under the terms of Standing Order No. 152 the Committee is empowered to examine the "expenditure, policy and administration of the Office of Science and Technology and its associated public bodies" The Committee was appointed on 12 November 2001.

The Committee announced its inquiry into Government Support for Nanotechnology on 2 July 2003, see Press Notice No. 36 of Session 2002-03.

Further evidence sessions are planned as follows, at 4.15pm :

-Monday 27 October: Private sector: Oxonica, Nanotecture, Institute of Nanotechnology; Unilever, QinetiQ; British Venture Capital Association and representatives from the industry

- Monday 3 November: Regional Development Agencies: Cambridge Interdisciplinary Research Collaboration, London Nanotechnology Centre

- Monday 15 December: Learned Societies; Lord Sainsbury, Minister for Science and Innovation, Dr John Taylor, Director General of the Research Councils.

Details of witnesses to be announced.