Select Committee on Science and Technology

No. 42 of Session 2006-07 14 June 2007



The Science and Technology Committee will hold its final evidence session in this inquiry on Wednesday 20 June at 11.00am in Committee Room 8 when evidence will be heard from:

Professor Sir Keith O’Nions, Director General of Science and Innovation, Department of Trade and Industry

For further information please call Ana Ferreira, on 020 7219 2793.

Previous press notices and publications are available on our website.

Notes to editors:

• Under the terms of Standing Order No. 152 the Science and Technology Committee is empowered to examine the “expenditure, policy and administration of the Office of Science and Innovation and its associated public bodies”. The Committee was appointed on 19 July 2005.

• This inquiry was announced on 5 March 2007 in Press notice No 22 of session 2006-07

• The Committee held an evidence session on Wednesday 9 May when evidence was heard from Professor Colin Blakemore, Chief Executive, Medical Research Council, Professor Ian Diamond, Chief Executive, Economic and Social Research Council, Professor Keith Mason, Chief Executive, Science and Technology Facilities Council, and Dr Randal Richards, Acting Chief Executive, Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council; and Wednesday 6 June when evidence was heard from Professor Stuart Palmer, Deputy Vice-Chancellor, University of Warwick, Professor Alan Jenkins, Director of the Water Science Programme, Centre for Ecology and Hydrology, Professor Lorna Casselton FRS, Foreign Secretary and Vice-President, and Dr Bernie Jones, Head of International Policy, The Royal Society,  and Dr Lloyd Anderson, Director, Science, The British Council.

Membership of the Committee

Mr Phil Willis (Lib Dem, Harrogate and Knaresborough)(Chairman)
Adam Afriyie (Con, Windsor)
Mr Robert Flello (Lab, Stoke-on-Trent South)
Linda Gilroy (Lab/Co-op, Plymouth Sutton)
Dr Evan Harris (Lib Dem, Oxford West & Abingdon)
Dr Brian Iddon (Lab, Bolton South East)
Chris Mole (Lab, Ipswich)
Mr Brooks Newmark (Con, Braintree)
Graham Stringer (Lab, Manchester, Blackley)
Bob Spink (Con, Castle Point)
Dr Desmond Turner (Lab, Brighton Kemptown)