Select Committee on Science and Technology

No. 9 of Session 2006-07 12 December 2006



The Science and Technology Committee will hold its second evidence session in this inquiry on Wednesday 10 January 2007 when evidence will be heard from:

At 9.30am

Dr David Williams, Director General, British National Space Centre (BNSC)
Miss Paula Freedman, Director, DTI Space within BNSC
Dr Arwyn Davies, Director, Earth Observation at both BNSC and Natural Environment Research Council

At 10.30am

Professor Keith Mason, Chief Executive, Particle Physics and Astronomy Research Council
Professor Richard Holdaway, Head of Science Programmes, Council for the Central Laboratory of the Research Councils
Air Vice-Marshal Chris Moran OBE, Assistant Chief of Air Staff, Ministry of Defence

The session will take place in Committee Room 8.

For further information please call Ana Ferreira, on 020 7219 2793.

Previous press notices and publications are available on our website

Notes for those wishing to attend a public meeting of the Committee

Members of the public wishing to attend should present themselves at St Stephen’s Entrance, where they will be directed through security and to the appropriate Committee Room.  It is advisable to allow about 20 minutes for this. It is possible for the Committee Room designated for the hearing to change at short notice, but such room changes will be clearly  indicated.  Please ensure that mobile phones and pagers are turned off before entering the Committee Room.  Under no circumstances should members of the public address the Committee while in session.  It is not possible for seats to be reserved in the Committee Room but every effort is made to ensure sufficient seating.  Standing in Committee Rooms is permitted at the discretion of the Chairman.  Those attending meetings are asked to remain silent throughout.

Notes to editors:

• Under the terms of Standing Order No. 152 the Science and Technology Committee is empowered to examine the “expenditure, policy and administration of the Office of Science and Technology and its associated public bodies”. The Committee was appointed on 19 July 2005.

• This inquiry was announced on 19 July 2006 in Press Notice No 53 of session 2005-06,

• The first evidence session was held on Wednesday 6 December when evidence was heard from: EADS Astrium, LogicaCMG,  Avanti,  Surrey Satellite Technology Limited, e2v, JRA Technology Ltd, UK, and Qi3.

Membership of the Committee

Mr Phil Willis (Lib Dem, Harrogate and Knaresborough)(Chairman)
Adam Afriyie (Con, Windsor)
Mr Robert Flello (Lab, Stoke-on-Trent South)
Mr Jim Devine (Lab, Livingston)
Dr Evan Harris (Lib Dem, Oxford West & Abingdon)
Dr Brian Iddon (Lab, Bolton South East)
Mr Brooks Newmark (Con, Braintree)
Anne Snelgrove (Lab/Co-op, South Swindon)
Graham Stringer (Lab, Manchester, Blackley)
Bob Spink (Con, Castle Point)
Dr Desmond Turner (Lab, Brighton Kemptown)