Select Committee on Science and Technology

No. 61 of Session 2006-07 12 October 2007




The Science and Technology Committee will hold its second evidence session in this inquiry on Wednesday 17 October at 9.30am in Committee Room 8 when evidence will be heard from:

At 9.30am:

Dr Vincent Argent, Consultant Obstetrician and Gynaecologist

Dr Tony Calland, Medical Ethics Committee, British Medical Association;

Liz Davies, Marie Stopes; and

Kathy French, Royal College of Nursing;

At 10.15am:

Dr John Flemming, Society for the Protection of Unborn Children;

Anne Quesney, Abortion Rights;

Dr Peter Saunders, Alive & Kicking; and

Anne Weyman, Family Planning Association

For further information please call Ana Ferreira, on 020 7219 2793.

Previous press notices and publications are available on our website

Notes to editors:

₠Under the terms of Standing Order No. 152 the Science and Technology Committee is empowered to examine the ₓexpenditure, policy and administration of the Office of Science and Innovation and its associated public bodiesâ‚?. The Committee was appointed on 19 July 2005.

₠This inquiry was announced on 20 June 2007 in Press notice No 45 of session 2006-07

Membership of the Committee

Mr Phil Willis (Lib Dem, Harrogate and Knaresborough)(Chairman)
Adam Afriyie (Con, Windsor)
Mrs Nadine Dorries (Con, Mid Bedfordshire)
Mr Robert Flello (Lab, Stoke-on-Trent South)
Linda Gilroy (Lab/Co-op, Plymouth Sutton)
Dr Evan Harris (Lib Dem, Oxford West & Abingdon)
Dr Brian Iddon (Lab, Bolton South East)
Chris Mole (Lab, Ipswich)
Graham Stringer (Lab, Manchester, Blackley)
Bob Spink (Con, Castle Point)
Dr Desmond Turner (Lab, Brighton Kemptown)