Select Committee on Science and Technology

No.6 of Session 2005-06 12 October 2005



19 October 2005

As part of its ongoing scrutiny of the Office of Science and Technology the Science and Technology Committee will hold its first “Science Question Time” of session 2005-06 with the Minister for Science and Innovation, Lord Sainsbury of Turville from 10.45am to 11.15am in Committee Room 8.

Lord Sainsbury will answer the questions listed below. There will also be supplementary questions from Committee Members on each subject.

1) When will the Government publish proposals on new nuclear build in the UK?

2) What is OST’s view of RCUK’s proposed policy on scientific publications?

3) What plans OST has to increase expenditure on research and development to combat the threat of avian influenza?

4) What new measures are being introduced to encourage industry to invest in R&D and  support knowledge transfer?

5) Are the current numbers of science, engineering and technology students sufficient to maintain the UK’s competitiveness?

6) Is public engagement with scientific issues now fully embedded in the policy-making process?

For further information please call Ana Ferreira, on 020 7219 2793. Previous press notices and publications are available on our website.

Notes for those wishing to attend a public meeting of the Committee

Members of the public wishing to attend should present themselves at St Stephen’s Entrance, where they will be directed through security and to the appropriate Committee Room.  It is advisable to allow about 15 minutes for this. It is possible for the Committee Room designated for the hearing to change at short notice, but such room changes will be clearly  indicated.  Please ensure that mobile phones and pagers are turned off before entering the Committee Room.  Under no circumstances should members of the public address the Committee while in session.  It is not possible for seats to be reserved in the Committee Room but every effort is made to ensure sufficient seating.  Standing in Committee Rooms is permitted at the discretion of the Chairman.  Those attending meetings are asked to remain silent throughout.

Notes to editors:

• Under the terms of Standing Order No. 152 the Science and Technology Committee is empowered to examine the “expenditure, policy and administration of the Office of Science and Technology and its associated public bodies”. The Committee was appointed on 19 July 2005.

Membership of the Committee

Mr Phil Willis (Lib Dem, Harrogate and Knaresborough)(Chairman)
Margaret Moran (Lab, Luton South)
Adam Afriyie (Con, Windsor)
Mr Brooks Newmark (Con, Braintree)
Mr Robert Flello (Lab, Stoke-on-Trent South) Anne Snelgrove (Lab/Co-op, South Swindon)
Dr Ian Gibson (Lab, Norwich North)
Bob Spink (Con, Castle Point)
Dr Evan Harris (Lib Dem, Oxford West & Abingdon)
Dr Desmond Turner (Lab, Brighton Kemptown)
Dr Brian Iddon (Lab, Bolton South East)