Select Committee on Science and Technology

No. 24 of Session 2006-07 12 March  2007



The Science and Technology Committee will hold its sixth evidence session in this inquiry on Monday 19 March 2007 when evidence will be heard from:

Jean-Jacques Dordain, Director General, European Space Agency

The session will take place in Committee Room 8 at 4.15pm

For further information please call Ana Ferreira, on 020 7219 2793.

Previous press notices and publications are available on our website,

Notes to editors:

• Under the terms of Standing Order No. 152 the Science and Technology Committee is empowered to examine the “expenditure, policy and administration of the Office of Science and Innovation and its associated public bodies”. The Committee was appointed on 19 July 2005.

• This inquiry was announced on 19 July 2006 in Press Notice No 53 of session 2005-06

• Evidence sessions were held on Wednesday: 6 December 2006 when evidence was heard from; EADS Astrium, LogicaCMG,  Avanti,  Surrey Satellite Technology Limited, e2v, JRA Technology Ltd, UK, and Qi3; 10 January 2007 when evidence was heard from; British National Space Centre (BNSC), DTI Space within BNSC, Earth Observation at both BNSC and the Natural Environment Research Council, Particle Physics and Astronomy Research Council, the Head of Science Programmes, Council for the Central Laboratory of the Research Councils, and the Assistant Chief of Air Staff, Ministry of Defence; on Tuesday 30 January 2007 when evidence was heard from; the Department for Education and Skills, Particle Physics and Astronomy Research Council, Space Connections and the National Space Centre; on Wednesday: 7 February 2007, when evidence was heard from; the Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs the Natural Environment Research Council (NERC), the Met Office, the British Association of Remote Sensing Companies, NERC Centre for Terrestrial Carbon Dynamics, and the NERC Collaborative Centre for Polar Observation and Modelling, the  Department for Transport, the Ordnance Survey and Inmarsat; 21 February when evidence was heard from, Professor Len Culhane, Chairman, UK Space Academic Network, and Emeritus Professor of Physics, University College London, Professor Martin Rees, President, Royal Society, and Professor of Cosmology and Astrophysics, University of Cambridge, Professor Michael Rowan-Robinson, President, Royal Astronomical Society, and Head of Astronomy and Astrophysics Department, Imperial College, London; Dr Kevin Fong, Co-Director, Centre for Aviation, Space and Extreme Environment Medicine, Professor Chris Kennard, Chair, Neurosciences and Mental Health Board, and MRC Council Member, Medical Research Council (MRC), Michael Gourlay, Quality Control Consultant, Marchbanks Measurement Systems; and Will Whitehorn, President, Virgin Galactica, Jeff Gazzard, Board Member, Aviation Environment Federation, Dr Patrick Collins, Director, Space Future Consulting

Membership of the Committee

Mr Phil Willis (Lib Dem, Harrogate and Knaresborough)(Chairman)
Adam Afriyie (Con, Windsor)
Mr Robert Flello (Lab, Stoke-on-Trent South)
Linda Gilroy (Lab/Co-op, Plymouth Sutton)
Dr Evan Harris (Lib Dem, Oxford West & Abingdon)
Dr Brian Iddon (Lab, Bolton South East)
Chris Mole (Lab, Ipswich)
Mr Brooks Newmark (Con, Braintree)
Graham Stringer (Lab, Manchester, Blackley)
Bob Spink (Con, Castle Point)
Dr Desmond Turner (Lab, Brighton Kemptown)