Select Committee on Science and Technology

No. 58 of Session 2006-07

10 October 2007



The Science and Technology Committee will publish its Eleventh Report of Session 2006-07, The Funding of Science and Discovery Centres [HC 903-I and II] at 00.01am on Monday 22 October 2007.

Embargoed copies of the Report will be available upon request from 11.00am on Friday 19 October 2007 to members of the press and those who gave evidence to the inquiry.

Requests for embargoed copies of the Report should be emailed to by 12.00 noon Wednesday 17 October 2007.

Copies of the Report can be obtained from TSO outlets and from the Parliamentary Bookshop, 12 Bridge Street, Parliament Square, London SW1A 2JX (020 7219 3890) by quoting the appropriate HC number from the day of publication.

The text of the Report will be available via the Committee’s website: from the time of publication.

For media inquiries please call Laura Kibby on 020 7219 0718. For any other information please call Ana Ferreira, on 020 7219 2793. Previous press notices and publications are available on our website.

Notes to editors:

• Under the terms of Standing Order No. 152 the Science and Technology Committee is empowered to examine the “expenditure, policy and administration of the Office of Science and Innovation and its associated public bodies”. The Committee was appointed on 19 July 2005.

• This inquiry was announced on 2 May 2007 in Press notice No 35 of session 2006-07

• An oral evidence session was held on Wednesday 11 July when evidence was heard from: Linda Conlon, Chair, Ecsite Uk and Director, Centre for Life, Colin Brown, Chief Executive, The Deep, Phil Winfield, Director, INTECH, Alec Coles, Director, Tyne & Wear Museums, Richard Halkett, Executive Director, Policy & Research Unit, NESTA, Clare Matterson, Director of Medicine, Society and History, Welcome Trust, Dr Peter Anderson, Museum Consultant, Jim Knight MP, Minister for Schools and 14-19 Learners, Department for Children, Schools and Families, Rt Hon Margaret Hodge MBE MP, Minister of State, Department for Culture Media and Sport, and Ian Pearson MP, Minister for Science and Innovation, Department for Innovation, Universities and Skills.

Membership of the Committee

Mr Phil Willis (Lib Dem, Harrogate and Knaresborough)(Chairman)
Adam Afriyie (Con, Windsor)
Mrs Nadine Dorries (Con, Mid Bedfordshire)
Mr Robert Flello (Lab, Stoke-on-Trent South)
Linda Gilroy (Lab/Co-op, Plymouth Sutton)
Dr Evan Harris (Lib Dem, Oxford West & Abingdon)
Dr Brian Iddon (Lab, Bolton South East)
Chris Mole (Lab, Ipswich)
Dr Bob Spink (Con, Castle Point)
Mr Graham Stringer (Lab, Manchester, Blackley)
Dr Desmond Turner (Lab, Brighton Kemptown)