Select Committee on Science and Technology

No. 57 of Session 2006-07

10 October 2007



The Science and Technology Committee will publish its Tenth Report of Session 2006-07, Investigating the Oceans [HC 470-I and II] at 00.01am on Thursday 18 October 2007.

Embargoed electronic copies of the Report will be available upon request from 11.00am on Tuesday 16 October 2007 to members of the press and those who gave evidence to the inquiry.

Requests for embargoed copies of the Report should be emailed to by 12.00 noon Friday 12 October 2007.

Copies of the Report can be obtained from TSO outlets and from the Parliamentary Bookshop, 12 Bridge Street, Parliament Square, London SW1A 2JX (020 7219 3890) by quoting the appropriate HC number from the day of publication.

The text of the Report will be available via the Committee’s website: from the time of publication.

For media inquiries please call Laura Kibby on 020 7219 0718. For any other information please call Ana Ferreira, on 020 7219 2793. Previous press notices and publications are available on our website.

Notes to editors:

• Under the terms of Standing Order No. 152 the Science and Technology Committee is empowered to examine the “expenditure, policy and administration of the Office of Science and Innovation and its associated public bodies”. The Committee was appointed on 19 July 2005.

• This inquiry was announced on 27 November 2006 in Press notice No 3 of session 2006-07

• Evidence sessions were held on; Tuesday 1 May when evidence was heard from: the Inter-Agency Committee on Marine Science and Technology (IACMST); the Natural Environment Research Council; and Professor Gideon Henderson, Department of Earth Sciences, University of Oxford; on Wednesday 16 May when evidence was heard from: Centre for Environment, Fisheries & Aquaculture Science (Cefas), UK Hydrographic Office, Met Office, Proudman Oceanographic Laboratory, National Oceanography Centre, Southampton, and Challenger Society for Marine Science; on Wednesday 13 June when evidence was heard from: Mr Ian Gallett, Executive Secretary, Society for Underwater Technology (SUT), Dr Lesley Thompson, Director, Research and Innovation, Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC), Dr Ralph Rayner, Vice President, Institute of Marine Engineering, Science and Technology (IMarEST), and Mr Richard Burt, Member, Executive Committee, Association of Marine Scientific Industries (AMSI); on Wednesday 4 July when evidence was heard from: Dr Sharon Thompson, Senior Marine Policy Officer, Royal Society for the Protection of Birds, Dr Malcolm Vincent, Director of Science, Joint Nature Conservation Committee, Professor Ian Boyd, Sea Mammal Research Unit, University of St Andrews, Dr Tom Tew, Chief Scientist, Natural England, Dr Alan Rodger, Head of Science Programmes, British Antarctic Survey, Professor Graham Shimmield, Director, Scottish Association for Marine Science, Professor Bob Dickson, Centre for Environment, Fisheries and Aquaculture Science, and Professor Andrew Watson, Royal Society of Chemistry; on Monday 16 July when evidence was heard from: Jonathan Shaw MP, Parliamentary Under Secretary of State, and Professor Howard Dalton, Chief Scientific Adviser, Department for Environment Food and Rural Affairs and Professor Sir David King, Government Chief Scientific Adviser; and on Monday 23 July when evidence was heard from: Professor Alan Thorpe, Chief Executive, and Dr Phil Williamson, School of Environmental Sciences, University of East Anglia, Natural environment Research Council.

Membership of the Committee

Mr Phil Willis (Lib Dem, Harrogate and Knaresborough)(Chairman)
Adam Afriyie (Con, Windsor)
Mrs Nadine Dorries (Con, Mid Bedfordshire)
Mr Robert Flello (Lab, Stoke-on-Trent South)
Linda Gilroy (Lab/Co-op, Plymouth Sutton)
Dr Evan Harris (Lib Dem, Oxford West & Abingdon)
Dr Brian Iddon (Lab, Bolton South East)
Chris Mole (Lab, Ipswich)
Dr Bob Spink (Con, Castle Point)
Mr Graham Stringer (Lab, Manchester, Blackley)
Dr Desmond Turner (Lab, Brighton Kemptown)