Select Committee on Science and Technology: Press Notices

No.58 of Session 2005-06 10 October 2006


Wednesday 18 October 2006

As part of its ongoing scrutiny of the Office of Science and Innovation the Science and Technology Committee will hold its fourth and final "Science Question Time" of session 2005-06 with the Minister for Science and Innovation, Lord Sainsbury of Turville from 9.30am to 10.10am in Committee Room 8.

Lord Sainsbury will answer the questions listed below. There will also be supplementary questions from Committee Members on each subject.

Knowledge Transfer

1. What discussions has the OSI had with the Research Councils on improving their performance in knowledge transfer?

Strategic science provision

2. What recent discussions has the OSI had on the impact of current funding mechanisms on science in universities?

Framework 7

3. What progress has been made in negotiations on the EU Framework 7 Programme?

Funding of science centres

4. What arrangements have the DTI and DFES made for the future funding of science centres?

For further information please call Ana Ferreira, on 020 7219 2793.

Notes for those wishing to attend a public meeting of the Committee

Members of the public wishing to attend should present themselves at St Stephen's Entrance, where they will be directed through security and to the appropriate Committee Room. It is advisable to allow about 20 minutes for this. It is possible for the Committee Room designated for the hearing to change at short notice, but such room changes will be clearly indicated. Please ensure that mobile phones and pagers are turned off before entering the Committee Room. Under no circumstances should members of the public address the Committee while in session. It is not possible for seats to be reserved in the Committee Room but every effort is made to ensure sufficient seating. Standing in Committee Rooms is permitted at the discretion of the Chairman. Those attending meetings are asked to remain silent throughout.

Notes to editors:

€ Under the terms of Standing Order No. 152 the Science and Technology Committee is empowered to examine the "expenditure, policy and administration of the Office of Science and Technology and its associated public bodies". The Committee was appointed on 19 July 2005.

€ Evidence sessions were held on Wednesday 19 October 2005, Wednesday 25 January and Tuesday 20 June 2006.

Membership of the Committee

Mr Phil Willis (Lib Dem, Harrogate and Knaresborough)(Chairman)
Adam Afriyie (Con, Windsor)
Mr Robert Flello (Lab, Stoke-on-Trent South)
Mr Jim Devine (Lab, Livingston)
Dr Evan Harris (Lib Dem, Oxford West & Abingdon)
Dr Brian Iddon (Lab, Bolton South East)
Margaret Moran (Lab, Luton South)
Mr Brooks Newmark (Con, Braintree)
Anne Snelgrove (Lab/Co-op, South Swindon)
Bob Spink (Con, Castle Point)
Dr Desmond Turner (Lab, Brighton Kemptown)