Select Committee on Science and Technology

No. 10 of Session 2006-07 10 January 2007



The Science and Technology Committee will hold its final evidence session in its ongoing scrutiny of the Office of Science and Innovation for 2006 on Wednesday 17 January 2007 when evidence will be heard from:

At 9.30am

Malcolm Wicks MP, Minister of State for Science and Innovation

Professor Sir Keith O'Nions, Director General for Science and Innovation

The session will take place in Committee Room 8.

For further information please call Ana Ferreira, on 020 7219 2793. Previous press notices and publications are available on our website

Notes for those wishing to attend a public meeting of the Committee

Members of the public wishing to attend should present themselves at St Stephen's Entrance, where they will be directed through security and to the appropriate Committee Room. It is advisable to allow about 20 minutes for this. It is possible for the Committee Room designated for the hearing to change at short notice, but such room changes will be clearly indicated. Please ensure that mobile phones and pagers are turned off before entering the Committee Room. Under no circumstances should members of the public address the Committee while in session. It is not possible for seats to be reserved in the Committee Room but every effort is made to ensure sufficient seating. Standing in Committee Rooms is permitted at the discretion of the Chairman. Those attending meetings are asked to remain silent throughout.

Notes to editors:

€ Under the terms of Standing Order No. 152 the Science and Technology Committee is empowered to examine the "expenditure, policy and administration of the Office of Science and Technology and its associated public bodies". The Committee was appointed on 19 July 2005.

Membership of the Committee

Mr Phil Willis (Lib Dem, Harrogate and Knaresborough)(Chairman)
Mr Brooks Newmark (Con, Braintree)
Adam Afriyie (Con, Windsor)
Anne Snelgrove (Lab/Co-op, South Swindon)
Mr Jim Devine (Lab, Livingston) Bob Spink (Con, Castle Point)
Mr Robert Flello (Lab, Stoke-on-Trent South)
Mr Graham Stringer (Lab), Manchester, Blackley
Dr Evan Harris (Lib Dem, Oxford West & Abingdon)
Dr Desmond Turner (Lab, Brighton Kemptown)
Dr Brian Iddon (Lab, Bolton South East)