Select Committee on Science and Technology

No. 36 of Session 2006-07 8 May 2007



The Science and Technology Committee will hold its Second evidence session in this inquiry on Wednesday 16 May at 9.30am in Committee Room 8 when evidence will be heard from:

At 9.30am

Dr Joe Horwood, Deputy Chief Executive, Centre for Environment, Fisheries & Aquaculture Science (Cefas);

Dr Robin Hensley, International Partnering Programme Team Leader, UK Hydrographic Office; and

Dr Mike Bell, Head of the National Centre for Ocean Forecasting, Met Office

At 10.30am

Professor Andrew J Willmott, Director, Proudman Oceanographic Laboratory;

Professor Ed Hill, Director, National Oceanography Centre, Southampton; and

Professor Peter Liss, President, Challenger Society for Marine Science and University of East Anglia

For further information please call Ana Ferreira, on 020 7219 2793.

Previous press notices and publications are available on our website

Notes to editors:

€ Under the terms of Standing Order No. 152 the Science and Technology Committee is empowered to examine the "expenditure, policy and administration of the Office of Science and Innovation and its associated public bodies". The Committee was appointed on 19 July 2005.

€ This inquiry was announced on 27 November 2006 in Press notice No 3 of session 2006-07

€ The first evidence session was held on Tuesday 1 May when evidence was heard from: The Inter-Agency Committee on Marine Science and Technology (IACMST); the Natural Environment Research Council; and Professor Gideon Henderson, Department of Earth Sciences, University of Oxford.

Membership of the Committee

Mr Phil Willis (Lib Dem, Harrogate and Knaresborough)(Chairman)
Adam Afriyie (Con, Windsor)
Mr Robert Flello (Lab, Stoke-on-Trent South)
Linda Gilroy (Lab/Co-op, Plymouth Sutton)
Dr Evan Harris (Lib Dem, Oxford West & Abingdon)
Dr Brian Iddon (Lab, Bolton South East)
Chris Mole (Lab, Ipswich)
Mr Brooks Newmark (Con, Braintree)
Graham Stringer (Lab, Manchester, Blackley)
Bob Spink (Con, Castle Point)
Dr Desmond Turner (Lab, Brighton Kemptown)