Select Committee on Science and Technology

No. 17 of Session 2006-07 8 February 2007



The Science and Technology Committee will publish its Second Report of Session 2006-07, Human Enhancement Technologies in Sport [HC 67], at 00.01 on Thursday 22 February 2007.

Embargoed paper copies of the Report and Evidence will be available from 10.00am on Tuesday 20 February to members of the press at the press gallery in the House of Commons and to those who gave evidence to the inquiry, from the Reception, 7 Millbank, provided they ask for copies in advance. 

Electronic copies of the report will also be made available to the above upon request. Requests should be emailed to by 12.00 noon, Friday 16 February 2007.

Copies of the Reports can be obtained from TSO outlets and from the Parliamentary Bookshop, 12 Bridge Street, Parliament Square, London SW1A 2JX (020 7219 3890) by quoting the appropriate HC number from the day of publication.

The text of the Report will be available via the Committee’s website.

For media inquiries please call Laura Kibby on 020 7219 0718. For any other information please call Ana Ferreira, on 020 7219 2793. Previous press notices and publications are available on our website.

Notes to editors:

• Under the terms of Standing Order No. 152 the Science and Technology Committee is empowered to examine the “expenditure, policy and administration of the Office of Science and Technology and its associated public bodies”. The Committee was appointed on 19 July 2005.

• This inquiry was announced on 1 March 2006 in Press Notice No 24 of session 2005-06.

• Evidence sessions were held on Wednesday: 19 July 2006 when evidence was heard from: Mr Matthew Reader, Head of Elite Sports Team, Department for Culture, Media and Sport, Mr John Scott, Director of Drug Free Sport, and Ms Allison Holloway, Education Manager for Drug Free Sport, UK Sport; 25 October 2006 when evidence was heard from Professor Ian McGrath, University of Glasgow and Chairman of the Physiological Society, Mr John Brewer, Director of Sports Science and the Lucozade Sport Science Academy, GlaxoSmithKline, Dr Bruce Hamilton, Chief Medical Officer, UK Athletics and Dr Anna Casey, Research Fellow, QinetiQ; 29 November 2006 when evidence was heard from; Dr Richard Budgett, Chief Medical Officer, British Olympic Association, and Dr Arne Ljungqvist, Chairman, International Olympic Committee (IOC) Medical Commission and Chairman of the World Anti-Doping Authority (WADA) Medical Research Committee; and on Tuesday 12 December when evidence was heard from Rt Hon Richard Caborn MP, Minister for Sport, Department for Culture, Media and Sport.

Membership of Committee

Adam Afriyie (Con, Windsor)
Mr Robert Flello (Lab, Stoke-on-Trent South)
Mr Jim Devine (Lab, Livingston)
Dr Evan Harris (Lib Dem, Oxford West & Abingdon)
Dr Brian Iddon (Lab, Bolton South East)
Chris Mole (Lab, Ipswich)
Mr Brooks Newmark (Con, Braintree)
Graham Stringer (Lab, Manchester, Blackley)
Dr Bob Spink (Con, Castle Point)
Dr Desmond Turner (Lab, Brighton Kemptown)