Select Committee on Science and Technology

No. 8 of Session 2005-06 8 November 2005



Wednesday 16 November

Committee Room 8

In its first oral evidence session for this inquiry the Committee will hear from:

At 9.30am

Government officials:
Brian Morris, Head, Carbon Abatement Technologies, Energy Group, and George Marsh, Advisor on Cleaner Coal, Department of Trade and Industry,
Dr Jim Penman, Head, Response Strategies Branch, Global Atmosphere Division, Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs, and
Ms Helen Fleming, Head, Competition and Economic Regulation team,  HM Treasury.

And at approximately 10.30am:

UK Carbon Capture and Storage Consortium:
Dr Jon Gibbins, Energy Technology for Sustainable Development Group, Imperial College London, and
Dr David Reiner, Judge Business School, University of Cambridge.

British Geological Survey:
Dr Nick Riley, Head, Sustainable & Renewable Energy Programme and
Dr. Sam Holloway, Senior Principle Scientist in underground CO2 storage research

For further information please call Ana Ferreira, on 020 7219 2793. Previous press notices and publications are available on our website.

Notes for those wishing to attend a public meeting of the Committee

Members of the public wishing to attend should present themselves at St Stephen's Entrance, where they will be directed through security and to the appropriate Committee Room.  It is advisable to allow about 15 minutes for this. It is possible for the Committee Room designated for the hearing to change at short notice, but such room changes will be clearly  indicated.  Please ensure that mobile phones and pagers are turned off before entering the Committee Room.  Under no circumstances should members of the public address the Committee while in session.  It is not possible for seats to be reserved in the Committee Room but every effort is made to ensure sufficient seating.  Standing in Committee Rooms is permitted at the discretion of the Chairman.  Those attending meetings are asked to remain silent throughout.

Notes to editors:

• Under the terms of Standing Order No. 152 the Science and Technology Committee is empowered to examine the "expenditure, policy and administration of the Office of Science and Technology and its associated public bodies". The Committee was appointed on 19 July 2005.

• The Committee announced this inquiry on 21 July 2005 in press notice No 2 of session 2005-06.

Membership of the Committee

Mr Phil Willis (Lib Dem, Harrogate and Knaresborough)(Chairman)
Adam Afriyie (Con, Windsor)
Mr Robert Flello (Lab, Stoke-on-Trent South)
Dr Ian Gibson (Lab, Norwich North)
Dr Evan Harris (Lib Dem, Oxford West & Abingdon)
Dr Brian Iddon (Lab, Bolton South East)
Margaret Moran (Lab, Luton South)
Mr Brooks Newmark (Con, Braintree)
Anne Snelgrove (Lab/Co-op, South Swindon)
Bob Spink (Con, Castle Point)
Dr Desmond Turner (Lab, Brighton Kemptown)