Select Committee on Science and Technology

No.38 of Session 2005-06 8 May 2005



The Science and Technology Committee will hold its seventh and eighth evidence session in this inquiry on Thursday 11 and Wednesday 17 May when evidence regarding the EU Physical Agents (Electromagnetic Fields) Directive and its impact upon those working with MRI equipment will be taken from:

Thursday 11 May

Directorate General for Employment, Social Affairs and Equal Opportunities

Mr Bernhard Jansen, Director, Social Dialogue, Social Rights, Working Conditions, Adaptation to Change; and

Mr Jos© Ramon Biosca de Sagustuy, Head of Unit, Health, Security and Hygiene at Work

This meeting will take place at 10.45am in DG Employment and Social, Rue Joseph II 27, 1049 Brussels, and will be held in private due to access restrictions into the building.

Wednesday 17 May

Panel 1 at 9.30am:

Dr Stephen Keevil, Head of Magnetic Resonance Physics, Guy's and St Thomas' NHS Foundation Trust;

Professor Colin Blakemore, Professor of Physiology, University of Oxford and Chief Executive, Medical Research Council; and

Professor Ray Dolan, Head, Wellcome Department of Imaging Neuroscience, University College London

at 10.30am:

Lord Hunt of Kings Heath, Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State for Work and Pensions;

Mr Geoffrey Podger, Chief Executive of the Health and Safety Executive;

Dr John Stather, Deputy Director, Centre for Radiation, Chemical and Environmental Hazards, Health Protection Agency; and

Dr Alastair McKinlay, Head of the Physical Dosimetry Department, Centre for Radiation, Chemical and Environmental Hazards, Health Protection Agency

The session will take place in Committee Room 8.

For further information please call Ana Ferreira, on 020 7219 2793.

Previous press notices and publications are available on our website

Notes for those wishing to attend a public meeting of the Committee

Members of the public wishing to attend should present themselves at St Stephen's Entrance, where they will be directed through security and to the appropriate Committee Room. It is advisable to allow about 20 minutes for this. It is possible for the Committee Room designated for the hearing to change at short notice, but such room changes will be clearly indicated. Please ensure that mobile phones and pagers are turned off before entering the Committee Room. Under no circumstances should members of the public address the Committee while in session. It is not possible for seats to be reserved in the Committee Room but every effort is made to ensure sufficient seating. Standing in Committee Rooms is permitted at the discretion of the Chairman. Those attending meetings are asked to remain silent throughout.

Notes to editors:

€ Under the terms of Standing Order No. 152 the Science and Technology Committee is empowered to examine the "expenditure, policy and administration of the Office of Science and Technology and its associated public bodies". The Committee was appointed on 19 July 2005.

€ This inquiry was announced on 9 November 2005 in Press Notice No 9 of session 2005-06.

€ Evidence sessions were held on Wednesday: 15 February when evidence was heard from the Government Chief Scientific Adviser and the Chief Government Social Researcher; on 1 and 22 March when evidence was heard from ACMD and the Home Office; on 26 April when evidence was heard from Experts and Lobby Groups; on 3 and 10 May when evidence was heard from biometrics and IT experts from industry and academia and the Food Standards Agency.

Membership of the Committee

Mr Phil Willis (Lib Dem, Harrogate and Knaresborough)(Chairman)
Adam Afriyie (Con, Windsor)
Mr Robert Flello (Lab, Stoke-on-Trent South)
Mr Jim Devine (Lab, Livingston)
Dr Evan Harris (Lib Dem, Oxford West & Abingdon)
Dr Brian Iddon (Lab, Bolton South East)
Margaret Moran (Lab, Luton South)
Mr Brooks Newmark (Con, Braintree)
Anne Snelgrove (Lab/Co-op, South Swindon)
Bob Spink (Con, Castle Point)
Dr Desmond Turner (Lab, Brighton Kemptown)