Select Committee on Science and Technology

No. 23 of Session 2006-07 8 March 2007



The Science and Technology Committee will publish its Third Report of Session 2006-07, The Cooksey Review [HC 204], at 00.01 on Thursday 15 March 2007.

Embargoed paper copies of the Report will be available from 11.00am on Tuesday 13 March to members of the press at the press gallery in the House of Commons and to those who gave evidence to the inquiry, from the Reception, 7 Millbank, provided they ask for copies in advance. 

Electronic copies of the report will also be made available to the above upon request. Requests should be emailed to by 12.00 noon,  Friday 9 March 2007.

Copies of the Reports can be obtained from TSO outlets and from the Parliamentary Bookshop, 12 Bridge Street, Parliament Square, London SW1A 2JX (020 7219 3890) by quoting the appropriate HC number from the day of publication.

The text of the Report will be available via the Committee’s website  from the time of publication.

For media inquiries please call Laura Kibby on 020 7219 0718. For any other information please call Ana Ferreira, on 020 7219 2793. Previous press notices and publications are available on our website.

Notes to editors:

• Under the terms of Standing Order No. 152 the Science and Technology Committee is empowered to examine the “expenditure, policy and administration of the Office of Science and Innovation and its associated public bodies”. The Committee was appointed on 19 July 2005.

• This inquiry was announced on 6 December 2006 in Press Notice No 5 of session 2006-07.

• The Committee held an oral evidence session on 24 January 2007 where Sir David Cooksey gave evidence.

Membership of Committee

Mr Phil Willis (Lib Dem, Harrogate and Knaresborough)(Chairman)
Adam Afriyie (Con, Windsor)
Mr Robert Flello (Lab, Stoke-on-Trent South)
Linda Gilroy (Lab/Co-op, Plymouth Sutton)
Dr Evan Harris (Lib Dem, Oxford West & Abingdon)
Dr Brian Iddon (Lab, Bolton South East)
Chris Mole (Lab, Ipswich)
Mr Brooks Newmark (Con, Braintree)
Graham Stringer (Lab, Manchester, Blackley)
Bob Spink (Con, Castle Point)
Dr Desmond Turner (Lab, Brighton Kemptown)