Select Committee on Science and Technology

No. 7 of Session 2006-07 7 December 2006



The Science and Technology Committee will hold its fourth evidence session in this inquiry on Wednesday 13 December when evidence will be heard from:

at 9.30am

Union Representatives at NIMR

Dr Tony Holder, President of the local UCU Association (University and College Union); and
Eileen Clark, Amicus representative and Chair of the local Trade Union Side (TUS)

at 10.00am

Medical Research Council

Sir John Chisholm, Chairman;
Professor Colin Blakemore, Chief Executive; and
Nick Winterton, Executive Director

at 11.00am

Office of Science and Innovation

Professor Sir Keith O'Nions, Director General of Science and Innovation

The session will take place in Committee Room 8.

For further information please call Ana Ferreira, on 020 7219 2793.

Previous press notices and publications are available on our website

Notes for those wishing to attend a public meeting of the Committee

Members of the public wishing to attend should present themselves at St Stephen's Entrance, where they will be directed through security and to the appropriate Committee Room. It is advisable to allow about 20 minutes for this. It is possible for the Committee Room designated for the hearing to change at short notice, but such room changes will be clearly indicated. Please ensure that mobile phones and pagers are turned off before entering the Committee Room. Under no circumstances should members of the public address the Committee while in session. It is not possible for seats to be reserved in the Committee Room but every effort is made to ensure sufficient seating. Standing in Committee Rooms is permitted at the discretion of the Chairman. Those attending meetings are asked to remain silent throughout.

Notes to editors:

€ Under the terms of Standing Order No. 152 the Science and Technology Committee is empowered to examine the "expenditure, policy and administration of the Office of Science and Technology and its associated public bodies". The Committee was appointed on 19 July 2005.

€ This inquiry was announced on 22 March 2006 in Press Notice No28 of session 2005-06.

€ Evidence sessions in this inquiry were held on: Wednesday 28 June when evidence was heard from BBSRC, NERC and MRC and Wednesday 1 November when evidence was heard from the Institute for Animal Health, Rothamsted Research, IGER (Institute of Grassland and Environmental Research), and the Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs.

Membership of the Committee:

Mr Phil Willis (Lib Dem, Harrogate and Knaresborough)(Chairman)
Adam Afriyie (Con, Windsor)
Mr Robert Flello (Lab, Stoke-on-Trent South)
Mr Jim Devine (Lab, Livingston)
Dr Evan Harris (Lib Dem, Oxford West & Abingdon)
Dr Brian Iddon (Lab, Bolton South East)
Mr Brooks Newmark (Con, Braintree)
Anne Snelgrove (Lab/Co-op, South Swindon)
Graham Stringer (Lab, Manchester, Blackley)
Bob Spink (Con, Castle Point)
Dr Desmond Turner (Lab, Brighton Kemptown)