Select Committee on Science and Technology

No. 31 of Session 2006-07 3 April 2007



The Science and Technology Committee is conducting an inquiry into marine science in the polar and non-polar oceans.

On Tuesday 17 April at 2.00pm the Committee will hold an informal public seminar at the National Marine Aquarium in Plymouth to launch the inquiry. The panel will consist of:

€ Professor Steve Hawkins, Director of the Marine Biological Association of the UK;

€ Professor Laurence Mee, Director of the Marine Institute at the University of Plymouth;

€ Professor Nicholas Owens, Chair of the Plymouth Marine Sciences Partnership and Director of the Plymouth Marine Laboratory; and

€ Dr Chris Reid, Executive Director, Partnership for Observation of the Global Oceans.

The seminar will take place from 2.30pm to 4.00pm in the National Marine Aquarium.

Please note that while the seminar is open to the public to observe, participation in the discussion will be restricted to Members of the Committee and the panellists.

For further information please call Ana Ferreira, on 020 7219 2793.

Journalists wishing to attend should call Laura Kibby (Committee Media Officer) on 020 7219 0718.

Members of the public wishing to attend should contact Liz Humphreys on 01752 633 234 or as places are limited. Please ensure that mobile phones and pagers are turned off before entering the seminar room.

Notes to editors:

€ Under the terms of Standing Order No. 152 the Science and Technology Committee is empowered to examine the "expenditure, policy and administration of the Office of Science and Technology and its associated public bodies". The Committee was appointed on 19 July 2005.

€ The inquiry was announced on 27 November 2006. It will focus on: organisation and funding of UK marine science in the polar and non-polar regions; the role of the UK internationally, and international collaboration in marine science; support for marine science, including provision and development of technology and engineering; the state of the UK research and skills base underpinning marine science and provision and skills to maintain and improve the UK's position in marine science; and use of marine sites of special scientific interest. It will include study of how marine science is being used to advance knowledge of the impact of climate change on the oceans.

Membership of the Committee

Mr Phil Willis (Lib Dem, Harrogate and Knaresborough)(Chairman)
Adam Afriyie (Con, Windsor)
Mr Robert Flello (Lab, Stoke-on-Trent South)
Linda Gilroy (Lab/Co-op, Plymouth Sutton)
Dr Evan Harris (Lib Dem, Oxford West & Abingdon)
Dr Brian Iddon (Lab, Bolton South East)
Chris Mole (Lab, Ipswich)
Mr Brooks Newmark (Con, Braintree)
Graham Stringer (Lab, Manchester, Blackley)
Bob Spink (Con, Castle Point)
Dr Desmond Turner (Lab, Brighton Kemptown)