No. 29 of Session 2004-05 2 March 2005


Strategic science provision in English universities

Wednesday 9 March in Committee Room 8

In its last evidence session as part of its inquiry into strategic science provision in English universities the Science and Technology Committee will hear evidence from:

At 9.30am

Professor David Eastwood, Vice Chancellor, University of East Anglia
Professor Alasdair Smith, Vice Chancellor, University of Sussex
Professor Steve Smith, Vice Chancellor, University of Exeter
Professor Michael Sterling, Vice Chancellor, University of Birmingham, Chair, Russell Group

At 10.30am

Dr Kim Howells MP, Minister of State for Lifelong Learning, Further and Higher Education, Department for Education and Skills

For further information, please ring Ana Ferreira on 020 7219 2793

Previous press notices and publications are available on our website:

Notes for those wishing to attend a public meeting of the Committee

Members of the public wishing to attend should present themselves at St Stephen’s Entrance, or Portcullis House if appropriate, where they will be directed through security and to the appropriate Committee Room.  It is advisable to allow about 15 minutes for this. It is possible for the Committee Room designated for the hearing to change at short notice, but such room changes will be clearly  indicated.  Please ensure that mobile phones and pagers are turned off before entering the Committee Room.  Under no circumstances should members of the public address the Committee while in session.  It is not possible for seats to be reserved in the Committee Room but every effort is made to ensure sufficient seating.  Standing in Committee Rooms is permitted at the discretion of the Chairman.  Those attending meetings are asked to remain silent throughout.

Notes for Editors

• Under the terms of Standing Order No. 152 the Committee is empowered to examine the “expenditure, policy and administration of the Office of Science and Technology and its associated public bodies. The Committee was appointed on 12 November 2001.

• The Committee announced this inquiry on 21 December 2004 in press notice No 12 of Session 2004-05. Evidence sessions have so far been held on Monday 7 February, when evidence was heard from: university students, the Higher Education Policy Institute (HEPI) and the Higher Education Funding Council for England (HEFCE); Monday 28 February, when evidence was heard from Research Councils UK (RCUK), the Office of Science and Technology (OST). RDAs and the Association for University Research and Industry Links (AURIL); and on Wednesday 2 March when evidence was heard from learned societies and the Association of University Teachers (AUT).

Membership of the Committee

Dr Ian Gibson (Lab, Norwich North) (Chairman)
Mr Tony McWalter (Lab, Hemel Hempstead)
Paul Farrelly (Lab, Newcastle-under-Lyme)
Dr Andrew Murrison (Con, Westbury)
Dr Evan Harris (Lib Dem, Oxford West & Abingdon) Geraldine Smith (Lab, Morecambe and Lunesdale)
Kate Hoey (Lab, Vauxhall) Bob Spink (Con, Castle Point)
Dr Brian Iddon (Lab, Bolton South East)
Dr Desmond Turner (Lab, Brighton Kemptown)
Mr Robert Key (Con, Salisbury)