Select Committee on Science and Technology

No. 14 of Session 2005-06 1 December 2005



The Science and Technology Committee will hold an inquiry to examine the way in which the Research Councils support knowledge transfer.

The inquiry will focus upon the effectiveness of the Research Councils’ knowledge transfer activities, in particular with respect to:

• Promotion of collaborative working between researchers and partners in industry, including in the creative industries and in SMEs;

• Stakeholder engagement and communication;

• Results and performance management;

• Co-ordination between the Councils and the role of RCUK.

The Committee would welcome written evidence from interested organizations, particularly those participating in knowledge transfer activities, and from individuals addressing these points. Evidence should be submitted by Thursday 16 February. Oral evidence sessions are likely to begin shortly afterwards.

Guidelines for the submission of evidence

Evidence should be submitted in Word format, and should be sent by e-mail to . The body of the e-mail must include a contact name, telephone number and postal address. The e-mail should also make clear who the submission is from.

Submissions should be as brief as possible, and certainly no more than 3,000 words. Paragraphs should be numbered for ease of reference, and the document should include a brief executive summary. Those submitting evidence are reminded that evidence should be original work, not previously published or circulated elsewhere. Once submitted no public use should be made of it, but those wishing to publish their evidence before it is published by the Committee are invited to contact the Clerk of the Committee to obtain permission to do so. Guidance on the submission of evidence can be found at

For further information please call Ana Ferreira, on 020 7219 2793. Previous press notices and publications are available on our website.

Notes to editors:

• Under the terms of Standing Order No. 152 the Science and Technology Committee is empowered to examine the “expenditure, policy and administration of the Office of Science and Technology and its associated public bodies”. The Committee was appointed on 19 July 2005.

• The Committee will be conducting its scrutiny of the Research Councils by a series of thematic inquiries, rather than by individual inquiries into each Council as it did in the last Parliament.

Membership of the Committee

Mr Phil Willis (Lib Dem, Harrogate and Knaresborough)(Chairman)
Adam Afriyie (Con, Windsor)
Mr Robert Flello (Lab, Stoke-on-Trent South)
Dr Ian Gibson (Lab, Norwich North)
Dr Evan Harris (Lib Dem, Oxford West & Abingdon)
Dr Brian Iddon (Lab, Bolton South East)
Margaret Moran (Lab, Luton South)
Mr Brooks Newmark (Con, Braintree)
Anne Snelgrove (Lab/Co-op, South Swindon)
Bob Spink (Con, Castle Point)
Dr Desmond Turner (Lab, Brighton Kemptown)