Select Committee on Science and Technology

No. 16 of Session 2006-07  1 February 2007



The Science and Technology Committee will hold its fourth evidence session in this inquiry on Wednesday 7 February 2007 when evidence will be heard from:

At 9.30am

Professor Sir Howard Dalton, Chief Scientific Adviser, Department of Environment, Food and Rural Affairs;

Professor Alan Thorpe, Chief Executive, Natural Environment Research Council (NERC); and

Alan Douglas, Head of Assurance, Met Office

At 10.10am

Matthew Stuttard, Chairman, British Association of Remote Sensing Companies;

Professor Shaun Quegan, Director, NERC Centre for Terrestrial Carbon Dynamics; and

Professor Duncan Wingham, Head of the Department of Earth Sciences,  University College London, and Director of the NERC Collaborative Centre for Polar Observation and Modelling

At 10.45am

Elizabeth Duthie, Head of Galileo Programme Division, Department for Transport;

Neil Ackroyd, Director of Data Collection and Management, Ordnance Survey; and

Patrick McDougal, Vice President, Corporate Development and Director of Galileo Programme, Inmarsat

The session will take place in Committee Room 8

For further information please call Ana Ferreira, on 020 7219 2793.

Previous press notices and publications are available on our website

Notes to editors:

• Under the terms of Standing Order No. 152 the Science and Technology Committee is empowered to examine the “expenditure, policy and administration of the Office of Science and Technology and its associated public bodies”. The Committee was appointed on 19 July 2005.

• This inquiry was announced on 19 July 2006 in Press Notice No 53 of session 2005-06,

• Evidence sessions were held on Wednesday: 6 December 2006 when evidence was heard from; EADS Astrium, LogicaCMG,  Avanti,  Surrey Satellite Technology Limited, e2v, JRA Technology Ltd, UK, and Qi3; and 10 January 2007 when evidence was heard from; British National Space Centre (BNSC), DTI Space within BNSC, Earth Observation at both BNSC and the Natural Environment Research Council, Particle Physics and Astronomy Research Council, the Head of Science Programmes, Council for the Central Laboratory of the Research Councils, and the Assistant Chief of Air Staff, Ministry of Defence; and on Tuesday 30 January 2007 when evidence was heard from; the Department for Education and Skills, Particle Physics and Astronomy Research Council, Space Connections and the National Space Centre.

Membership of the Committee

Mr Phil Willis (Lib Dem, Harrogate and Knaresborough)(Chairman)
Adam Afriyie (Con, Windsor)
Mr Jim Devine (Lab, Livingston) Bob Spink (Con, Castle Point)
Mr Robert Flello (Lab, Stoke-on-Trent South)
Dr Evan Harris (Lib Dem, Oxford West & Abingdon) )
Dr Brian Iddon (Lab, Bolton South East) )
Chris Mole (Lab, Ipswich)
Mr Brooks Newmark (Con, Braintree)
Dr Bob Spink (Con, Castle Point) Mr Graham Stringer (Lab), Manchester, Blackley
Dr Desmond Turner (Lab, Brighton Kemptown)