Select Committee on Science and Technology

No. 15 of Session 2006-07  1 February 2007



The Science and Technology Committee will hold it’s second evidence session in this inquiry on Monday 5 February when evidence will be heard from:

At 4.15pm

Dr David King, Director, Human Genetics Alert;
Dr Calum MacKellar,  Director of Research, Scottish Council on Human Bioethics; and
The Rt Revd Dr Lee Rayfield, Bishop of Swindon

At 4.55pm

Dr Simon Denegri, Chief Executive, Association of Medical Research Charities; and
Emeritus Professor Raanan Gillon, former editor of Journal of Bioethics

  At 5.35pm

Professor Colin Blakemore, Chief Executive, Medical Research Council;
Professor Martin Bobrow, Deputy Chairman of the Wellcome Trust; and
David Macauley, Chief Executive, UK Stem Cells Foundation

The session will take place in the Wilson Room, Portcullis House

For further information please call Ana Ferreira, on 020 7219 2793.

Previous press notices and publications are available on our website     

Notes for those wishing to attend a public meeting of the Committee

Members of the public wishing to attend this meeting should present themselves at Portcullis House where they will be directed through security and to the appropriate Committee Room.  It is advisable to allow about 15 minutes for this.  Please ensure that mobile phones and pagers are turned off before entering the Committee Room.  Under no circumstances should members of the public address the Committee while in session. It is not possible for seats to be reserved in the Committee Room but every effort is made to ensure sufficient seating.  Standing in Committee Rooms is permitted at the discretion of the Chairman.  Those attending meetings are asked to remain silent throughout.

Notes to editors:

• Under the terms of Standing Order No. 152 the Science and Technology Committee is empowered to examine the “expenditure, policy and administration of the Office of Science and Technology and its associated public bodies”. The Committee was appointed on 19 July 2005.

• This inquiry was announced on 10 January 2007 in press notice No 11.

Membership of the Committee:

Mr Phil Willis (Lib Dem, Harrogate and Knaresborough)(Chairman)
Adam Afriyie (Con, Windsor)
Mr Jim Devine (Lab, Livingston) Bob Spink (Con, Castle Point)
Mr Robert Flello (Lab, Stoke-on-Trent South)
Dr Evan Harris (Lib Dem, Oxford West & Abingdon) Dr Brian Iddon (Lab, Bolton South East)
Chris Mole (Lab, Ipswich)
Mr Brooks Newmark (Con, Braintree)
Dr Bob Spink (Con, Castle Point) Mr Graham Stringer (Lab), Manchester, Blackley
Dr Desmond Turner (Lab, Brighton Kemptown)