No.6 of Session 2004-05 8 December 2004


The Work of the Economic and Social Research Council

The Science and Technology Committee will publish its First Report of Session 2004-05, The Work of the Economic and Social Research Council (HC 13), at 10.00am on Monday 20 December 2004.

The Report examines the work, strategy and expenditure plans of the ESRC, as part of the Committee's rolling programme of scrutiny of all seven Research Councils.

Copies of the Report will be available for collection in reception at 7 Millbank from the time of publication.Copies of the Report can also be obtained from TSO outlets and from the Parliamentary Bookshop, 12 Bridge Street, Parliament Square, London SW1A 2JX (020 7219 3890) by quoting the appropriate HC number. The text of the Reports will also be available via the Committee's internet homepage:

For further information please call Ana Ferreira, on 020 7219 2793. Previous press notices and publications are available on our website.

Notes for Editors

• Under the terms of Standing Order No. 152 the Committee is empowered to examine the “expenditure, policy and administration of the Office of Science and Technology and its associated public bodies". The Committee was appointed on 12 November 2001.

• The Committee published Reports on the other 6 Research Councils as follows:

Particle Physics and Astronomy Research Council, 17 December 2002, HC 161, Session 2002-03
Medical Research Council, 24 March 2003, HC 132, Session 2002-03
Natural Environment Research Council, 16 July 2003, HC 674, Session 2002-03
Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council, 3 November 2003, HC 936, Session 2002-03
Biotechnology and Biological Sciences Research Council, 12 February 2004, HC 6, Session 2003-04
Council for the Central Laboratory of the Research Council, 22 June 2004, HC 462, Session 2003-04

Membership of the Committee

Dr Ian Gibson (Lab, Norwich North) (Chairman)
Mr Tony McWalter (Lab, Hemel Hempstead)
Paul Farrelly (Lab, Newcastle-under-Lyme)
Dr Andrew Murrison (Con, Westbury)
Dr Evan Harris (Lib Dem, Oxford West & Abingdon)
Geraldine Smith (Lab, Morecambe and Lunesdale)
Kate Hoey (Lab, Vauxhall)
Bob Spink (Con, Castle Point)
Dr Brian Iddon (Lab, Bolton South East)
Dr Desmond Turner (Lab, Brighton Kemptown)
Mr Robert Key (Con, Salisbury)