Regulatory Reform Committee press notice

Session 2007-08 29 November 2007


Draft Legislative Reform Order (Local Authority Consent Requirements)(England and Wales) Order 2007

The Regulatory Reform Committee has recommended that the above draft Order should be proceeded with in the terms of the draft under s18(3) of the Legislative and Regulatory Reform Act 2006.

The Committee's assessment of the draft Order will be published as its First Report of the 2007-08 Session at 2.00 pm on Monday 3 December 2007. It will be available from Stationery Office outlets (Ref HC 135).

The text of the report will also be available on the Committee's website from 3.30 pm on the day of publication. (

Notes for Editors

This is the first draft Legislative Reform Order to come before the Committee. The purpose of this draft Order is to remove four requirements on local authorities to obtain consent or approval from the Secretary of State or the Welsh Ministers, or in one case the Attorney General. Specifically, the draft Order would remove requirements for local authorities in England and Wales to obtain consent or approval before taking certain action under the following enactments: the Cancer Act 1939, s4; the Local Government Act 1972, Schedule 14, paragraph 25; the Local Government (Overseas Assistance) Act 1993, s1; and the Education Act 1996, Schedule 1.

The Regulatory Reform Committee (previously the Deregulation and Regulatory Reform Committee) is appointed to consider and report to the House on draft Legislative Reform Orders under the Legislative and Regulatory Reform Act 2006. Its full remit is set out in S.O. No. 141, which were approved on 4 July.

The Members of the Committee are:

Andrew Miller, Labour, Ellesmere Port & Neston (Chairman)
Gordon Banks, Labour, Ochil and South Perthshire
Lorely Burt, Liberal Democrat, Solihull
Mr Quentin Davies, Labour, Grantham and Stamford
Mr James Gray, Conservative, North Wiltshire
Stephen Hammond, Conservative, Wimbledon
John Hemming, Liberal Democrat, Birmingham, Yardley
Mrs Sharon Hodgson, Labour, Gateshead East & Washington West
Mr Stewart Jackson, Conservative, Peterborough
Judy Mallaber, Labour, Amber Valley
Dr Doug Naysmith, Labour Co/op, Bristol North West
Mr Jamie Reed, Labour, Copeland
Mr Anthony Steen, Conservative, Totnes
Phil Wilson, Labour, Sedgefield

For further information on the work of the Committee, contact Liz Booth, Secretary / Committee Assistant (020 7219 2837); or see the Committee's website