Regulatory Reform Committee press notice

Session 2008-09 23 June 2009

Draft Legislative Reform (Dangerous Wild Animals) (Licensing) Order 2009


The draft Legislative Reform (Dangerous Wild Animals) (Licensing) Order 2009 and Explanatory Document (ED) were laid before Parliament on 17 June 2009 by the Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs. under section 14(1) of the Legislative and Regulatory Reform Act 2006 (LRRA).

The purpose of the draft Order is threefold:

€ It seeks to remove the mandatory requirement for inspections to be carried out in respect of certain applications for a replacement or second licence;

€ It extends the period of validity of a licence from a maximum of one calendar year to two years;

€ It provides that licences (other than in the case of licence renewals) will come into force immediately upon their being granted.

The Committee recommends that the draft Order be approved. The Government has recommended that the draft Order should be subject to the affirmative resolution procedure. The Committee agree.

The Committee's assessment of the draft Order will be published as its Seventh Report of the 2008-09 Session at 2.00 pm on Thursday 25 June 2009. It will be available from Stationery Office outlets (Ref HC 795).

The text of the report will also be available on the Committee's website from 3.30 pm on the day of publication. (

Notes for Editors

The Regulatory Reform Committee is appointed to examine and report to the House on draft Legislative Reform Orders under the Legislative and Regulatory Reform Act 2006 and matters relating to regulatory reform. Its full remit is set out in S.O. No. 141.

The Members of the Committee are:

Andrew Miller , Labour, Ellesmere Port & Neston (Chairman)
Gordon Banks , Labour, Ochil and South Perthshire
Lorely Burt , Liberal Democrat, Solihull
Mr Quentin Davies , Labour, Grantham and Stamford
Mr James Gray , Conservative, North Wiltshire
John Hemming , Liberal Democrat, Birmingham, Yardley
Mrs Sharon Hodgson , Labour, Gateshead East & Washington West
Mr Stewart Jackson , Conservative, Peterborough
Judy Mallaber , Labour, Amber Valley
Dr Doug Naysmith , Labour Co/op, Bristol North West
Mr Mark Prisk , Conservative, Hertford and Stortford
Mr Jamie Reed , Labour, Copeland
Mr Anthony Steen , Conservative, Totnes
Phil Wilson , Labour, Sedgefield

For further information on the work of the Committee, contact Liz Booth, Committee Assistant (020 7219 2837); or see the Committee's website