Session 2008-09 22 January 2009


Draft Legislative Reform (Insolvency) (Advertising Requirements) Order 2009

The draft Legislative Reform (Insolvency) (Advertising Requirements) Order 2009 and Explanatory Document (ED) were laid before Parliament on 4 December 2008 under section 14(1) of the Legislative and Regulatory Reform Act 2006 (LRRA).

The purpose of the draft Order is to amend the 1986 Insolvency Act in order that the requirement to advertise creditors' meetings locally is replaced with a discretion to undertake additional advertising as appropriate.

The Government has recommended that the draft Order should be subject to the affirmative resolution procedure. The Committee was of the opinion that the draft Order should not be approved, although it considered the affirmative resolution appropriate were the Order to proceed

The Committee's assessment of the draft Order will be published as its First Report of the 2008-09 Session at 2.00 pm on Monday 26 January 2009. It will be available from Stationery Office outlets (Ref HC 181).

The text of the report will also be available on the Committee's website from 3.30 pm on the day of publication. (www.parliament.uk/regrefcom)

Notes for Editors

The Regulatory Reform Committee (previously the Deregulation and Regulatory Reform Committee) is appointed to consider and report to the House on draft Legislative Reform Orders under the Legislative and Regulatory Reform Act 2006. Its full remit is set out in S.O. No. 141.

The Members of the Committee are:

Andrew Miller , Labour , Ellesmere Port & Neston (Chairman)
Gordon Banks, Labour , Ochil and South Perthshire
Lorely Burt , Liberal Democrat , Solihull
Mr Quentin Davies , Labour , Grantham and Stamford
Mr James Gray , Conservative , North Wiltshire
John Hemming , Liberal Democrat , Birmingham, Yardley
Mrs Sharon Hodgson , Labour , Gateshead East & Washington West
Mr Stewart Jackson , Conservative , Peterborough
Judy Mallaber , Labour , Amber Valley
Dr Doug Naysmith , Labour Co/op , Bristol North West
Mr Mark Prisk , Conservative , Hertford and Stortford
Mr Jamie Reed , Labour , Copeland
Mr Anthony Steen , Conservative, Totnes
Phil Wilson , Labour , Sedgefield

For further information on the work of the Committee, contact Liz Booth, Committee Assistant (020 7219 2837); or see the Committee's website www.parliament.uk/regrefcom