Regulatory Reform Committee press notice

Session 2007-08 19 March 2008

Getting Results: The Better Regulation Executive and the Impact of the Regulatory Reform Agenda

The Regulatory Reform Committee has arranged the following oral evidence session for its first inquiry.

Date / Time Tuesday 1 April at 9.45 am

Witnesses: Representatives from Institute of Directors (IoD), Confederation of British Industry (CBI), Federation of Small Businesses (FSB) and British Chambers of Commerce (BCC).

Location: Committee Room 19, Upper Committee Corridor, House of Commons

The session will be open to the public on a first come, first served basis. There is no system for the prior reservation of seats in Committee Rooms. It is advisable to allow about 20 minutes to pass through security checks. Committee rooms and the timing of meetings are subject to change. Those interested in attending the session should check the venue by contacting the House of Commons Information Office on 020 7219 4272 on the day before the hearing.


Provisional oral evidence sessions are planned on the following dates:

Tuesday 29 April: National Consumer Council (NCC) and the Trades Union Congress (TUC)

Tuesday 13 May: representative group of Better Regulation Units (BRUs) from Government departments

Tuesday 20 May: Local Government Association

Tuesday 24 June: Baroness Shriti Vadera, Minister of State, Department for Business, Enterprise and Regulatory Reform, and the Better Regulation Executive.

Notes for Editors

The terms of reference for the inquiry are as follows:

to assess the extent to which the Better Regulation Executive (BRE) has developed a coherent strategy for implementing regulatory reform; whether the BRE works effectively with other areas of government to implement regulatory reform initiatives; if the approach to measuring and reporting on performance and outcomes is sufficiently robust and whether the current approach to regulatory reform is delivering genuine results.

The Regulatory Reform Committee is appointed to examine and report to the House on draft Legislative Reform Orders under the Legislative and Regulatory Reform Act 2006 and matters relating to regulatory reform. Its full remit is set out in S.O. No. 141.

The Members of the Committee are:

Andrew Miller , Labour, Ellesmere Port & Neston (Chairman)
Gordon Banks , Labour, Ochil and South Perthshire
Lorely Burt , Liberal Democrat, Solihull
Mr Quentin Davies , Labour, Grantham and Stamford
Mr James Gray , Conservative, North Wiltshire
Stephen Hammond , Conservative, Wimbledon
John Hemming , Liberal Democrat, Birmingham, Yardley
Mrs Sharon Hodgson , Labour, Gateshead East & Washington West
Mr Stewart Jackson , Conservative, Peterborough
Judy Mallaber , Labour, Amber Valley
Dr Doug Naysmith , Labour Co/op, Bristol North West
Mr Jamie Reed , Labour, Copeland
Mr Anthony Steen , Conservative , Totnes
Phil Wilson , Labour, Sedgefield

For further information on the work of the Committee, contact Liz Booth, Secretary / Committee Assistant (020 7219 2837); or see the Committee's website