Regulatory Reform Committee press notice

Session 2009-10 19 January 2010

Draft Legislative Reform (Dangerous Wild Animals) (Licensing) Order 2010: Second stage

The revised draft Legislative Reform (Dangerous Wild Animals) (Licensing) Order 2010 and Explanatory Document (ED) were laid before Parliament on 7 December 2009 by the Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs. under section 14(1) of the Legislative and Regulatory Reform Act 2006 (LRRA).

The Committee's assessment of the draft Order will be published as its First Report of the 2009-10 Session at 2.00 pm on Thursday 21 January 2010. It will be available from Stationery Office outlets (Ref HC 288).

The text of the report will also be available on the Committee's website from 3.30 pm on the day of publication. (

Notes for Editors

The Regulatory Reform Committee is appointed to examine and report to the House on draft Legislative Reform Orders under the Legislative and Regulatory Reform Act 2006 and matters relating to regulatory reform. Its full remit is set out in S.O. No. 141.

The Members of the Committee are:

Andrew Miller , Labour , Ellesmere Port & Neston ( Chairman)
Gordon Banks , Labour , Ochil and South Perthshire
Lorely Burt , Liberal Democrat , Solihull
Mr Quentin Davies , Labour , Grantham and Stamford
Mr James Gray , Conservative , North Wiltshire
John Hemming , Liberal Democrat , Birmingham, Yardley
Mrs Sharon Hodgson , Labour , Gateshead East & Washington West
Mr Stewart Jackson , Conservative , Peterborough
Judy Mallaber , Labour , Amber Valley
Dr Doug Naysmith , Labour Co/op , Bristol North West
John Penrose , Conservative , Weston-Super-Mare
Mr Jamie Reed , Labour , Copeland
Mr Anthony Steen , Conservative , Totnes
Phil Wilson , Labour, Sedgefield

For further information on the work of the Committee, contact Liz Booth, Committee Assistant (020 7219 2837); or see the Committee's website