Regulatory Reform Committee press release

Session 2008-09 16 July 2009


The Report from the Regulatory Reform Committee, Themes and Trends in Regulatory Reform is the outcome of the Committee's latest inquiry.

The Committee's report will be published as its Ninth Report of the 2008-09 Session at 10am on Tuesday 21 July 2009. It will be available from Stationery Office outlets (Ref HC 329-I). The oral and written evidence taken by the Committee during the course of its inquiry will be published as Volume II of the Report (HC 329-II) at the same time.

The text of the report will also be available on the Committee's website from 3.30 pm on the day of publication. (

Advance copies of the Report will be available to all those who gave evidence to the Committee during the inquiry and to members of the press. Embargoed copies can be collected between 11.00 am and 12 noon on Monday 20 July from the above address at 7 Millbank. Copies of the report will be posted to eligible recipients who are unable to collect. Please ring Liz Booth on 020 7219 2837 if you would like this to be done.

When the Report is published on 21 July, the Chairman of the Committee, Andrew Miller MP, will be available for interview on 020 7219 3580.

Notes for Editors

The terms of reference for the inquiry were as follows:

The Committee will consider how aspects of the regulatory reform agenda are evolving; possible improvements to the design of new regulations; and whether reform initiatives are currently achieving intended benefits.

This included:
1. Current developments
€ what are the implications of recent economic developments (for example, the economic downturn; credit crunch and problems within the financial sector) for the design and delivery of the regulatory reform agenda, including risk-based regulation?

€ how does the Government balance the need for an effective regulatory framework - providing the necessary benefits and protections - with the commitment to improve the conditions for business success?

€ how might a proportionate and targeted response to improving the regulatory framework in the wake of the financial crisis be made? What lessons are there for the wide regulatory reform agenda?

€ how could the Government improve its capability to regulate in a proportionate and effective manner?

€ whether there is a coherent package of regulatory measures for improving the conditions for business success; and how regulatory reform initiatives fit into wider Government support.

2. Design of new regulations
€ does Government understand businesses sufficiently to design effective regulations? Is sufficient emphasis given to small businesses and competition issues?

€ is there sufficient consideration of how regulations will be implemented, including an appropriate focus on compliance and enforcement issues?

The Regulatory Reform Committee is appointed to examine and report to the House on draft Legislative Reform Orders under the Legislative and Regulatory Reform Act 2006 and matters relating to regulatory reform. Its full remit is set out in S.O. No. 141.

The Members of the Committee are:

Andrew Miller , Labour , Ellesmere Port & Neston (Chairman)
Gordon Banks , Labour, Ochil and South Perthshire
Lorely Burt , Liberal Democrat , Solihull
Mr Quentin Davies , Labour, Grantham and Stamford
Mr James Gray , Conservative, North Wiltshire
John Hemming , Liberal Democrat, Birmingham, Yardley
Mrs Sharon Hodgson , Labour, Gateshead East & Washington West
Mr Stewart Jackson , Conservative, Peterborough
Judy Mallaber , Labour, Amber Valley
Dr Doug Naysmith , Labour Co/op, Bristol North West
John Penrose , Conservative, Weston-Super-Mare
Mr Jamie Reed , Labour, Copeland
Mr Anthony Steen , Conservative, Totnes
Phil Wilson , Labour, Sedgefield

For further information on the work of the Committee, contact Liz Booth, Committee Assistant (020 7219 2837); or see the Committee's website