Regulatory Reform Committee press notice

Session 2007-08 10 March 2008

Draft Legislative Reform (Health and Safety Executive) Order 2008

The Regulatory Reform Committee has considered the draft Legislative Reform (Health and Safety Executive) Order 2008 which was laid before the House of Commons on 18 February 2008. The Committee recommends unanimously that the draft Order should be approved.

The purpose of the draft Order is to amend the Health and Safety at Work etc. Act 1974 to consolidate the Health and Safety Commission and the Health and Safety Executive into a single statutory body. The new body would retain the name "Health and Safety Executive".

The Chairman of the Committee, Andrew Miller said:

"This draft Legislative Reform order is the first to be proposed under section 2 of the Legislative and Regulatory Reform Act 2006, which specifically envisages transferring regulatory powers between bodies where to do so would improve the transparency and accountability of regulation. A unified health and safety regulator should be easier to hold to account, should speak with a single voice, and should be less confusing to the public. My Committee has therefore recommended that the draft order should proceed."

The Committee's assessment of the draft Order will be published as its Second Report of the 2007-08 Session at 2.00 pm on Monday 10 March 2008. It will be available from Stationery Office outlets (Ref HC 398).

The text of the report will also be available on the Committee's website from 3.30 pm on the day of publication. (

Notes for Editors

The Regulatory Reform Committee is appointed to examine and report to the House on draft Legislative Reform Orders under the Legislative and Regulatory Reform Act 2006 and matters relating to regulatory reform. Its full remit is set out in S.O. No. 141.

The Members of the Committee are:

Andrew Miller , Labour, Ellesmere Port & Neston (Chairman)
Gordon Banks, Labour, Ochil and South Perthshire
Lorely Burt, Liberal Democrat, Solihull
Mr Quentin Davies, Labour, Grantham and Stamford
Mr James Gray, Conservative, North Wiltshire
Stephen Hammond, Conservative, Wimbledon
John Hemming, Liberal Democrat, Birmingham, Yardley
Mrs Sharon Hodgson, Labour, Gateshead East & Washington West
Mr Stewart Jackson, Conservative, Peterborough
Judy Mallaber, Labour, Amber Valley
Dr Doug Naysmith, Labour Co/op, Bristol North West
Mr Jamie Reed, Labour, Copeland
Mr Anthony Steen, Conservative, Totnes
Phil Wilson, Labour, Sedgefield

For further information on the work of the Committee, contact Liz Booth, Secretary / Committee Assistant (020 7219 2837); or see the Committee's website