Regulatory Reform Committee press notice

Session 2007-08 5 March 2008

Draft Legislative Reform (Health and Safety Executive) Order 2008

The Regulatory Reform Committee is required to consider all draft Legislative Reform Orders laid by the Government under the terms of the Legislative and Regulatory Reform Act 2006.

The Committee has recommended that the draft Legislative Reform (Health and Safety Executive) Order 2008 which was laid before Parliament on 18 February under s17(2) of the Act should be proceeded with in the terms of the draft.

The Committee's assessment of the draft Order will be published as its Second Report of the 2007-08 Session at 2.00 pm on Monday 10 March 2008. It will be available from Stationery Office outlets (Ref HC 398).

The text of the report will also be available on the Committee's website from 3.30 pm on the day of publication. (

Notes for Editors

This is the second draft Legislative Reform Order to come before the Committee. The purpose of this draft Order is to amend the Health and Safety at Work etc. Act 1974 to consolidate the Health and Safety Commission and the Health and Safety Executive into a single statutory body. The new body would retain the name "Health and Safety Executive".

The Regulatory Reform Committee is appointed to examine and report to the House on draft Legislative Reform Orders under the Legislative and Regulatory Reform Act 2006 and matters relating to regulatory reform. Its full remit is set out in S.O. No. 141.

The Members of the Committee are:

Andrew Miller , Labour, Ellesmere Port & Neston (Chairman)
Gordon Banks , Labour, Ochil and South Perthshire
Lorely Burt , Liberal Democrat, Solihull
Mr Quentin Davies , Labour, Grantham and Stamford
Mr James Gray , Conservative, North Wiltshire
Stephen Hammond , Conservative , Wimbledon
John Hemming , Liberal Democrat, Birmingham, Yardley
Mrs Sharon Hodgson , Labour, Gateshead East & Washington West
Mr Stewart Jackson , Conservative, Peterborough
Judy Mallaber , Labour, Amber Valley
Dr Doug Naysmith , Labour Co/op , Bristol North West
Mr Jamie Reed , Labour, Copeland
Mr Anthony Steen, Conservative, Totnes
Phil Wilson , Labour, Sedgefield

For further information on the work of the Committee, contact Liz Booth, Secretary / Committee Assistant (020 7219 2837); or see the Committee's website