Regulatory Reform Committee press notice

Session 2008-09 1 April 2009

Draft Legislative Reform (Minor Variations to Premises Licences and Club Premises Certificates) Order 2009


The revised draft Legislative Reform (Minor Variations to Premises Licences and Club Premises Certificates) Order 2009 and Accompanying Statement were laid before Parliament on 26 March 2009 under section 18(7) of the Legislative and Regulatory Reform Act 2006 (LRRA).

The draft Order proposes a streamlined procedure for applying to make minor changes to the licences of licensed premises (not including extension of alcohol sales) which would dispense with the requirement to consult in all cases with responsible authorities such as the police. Instead, licensing authorities would have discretion on whether to consult the responsible authorities.

In addition, the original draft order proposed that there would no longer be any requirement to advertise proposed minor changes nor any ancillary right to make representations to the licensing authority, although the general right to apply for review of a licence would remain. In its report on the previous draft the Committee recommended that some form of prior notification be retained in order that licensing officers could take representations into account, and recommended that the Order be amended accordingly.

The Committee is content that the revised version of the draft Order properly takes into account the comments made in its earlier report and accordingly recommends that the Order be approved.

The Committee's assessment of the draft Order will be published as its Fifth Report of the 2008-09 Session at 2.00 pm on Thursday 2 April 2009. It will be available from Stationery Office outlets (Ref HC 400).

The text of the report will also be available on the Committee's website from 3.30 pm on the day of publication. (

Notes for Editors

The Regulatory Reform Committee is appointed to examine and report to the House on draft Legislative Reform Orders under the Legislative and Regulatory Reform Act 2006 and matters relating to regulatory reform. Its full remit is set out in S.O. No. 141.

The Members of the Committee are:

Andrew Miller , Labour , Ellesmere Port & Neston (Chairman)
Gordon Banks , Labour , Ochil and South Perthshire
Lorely Burt , Liberal Democrat , Solihull
Mr Quentin Davies , Labour , Grantham and Stamford
Mr James Gray , Conservative , North Wiltshire
John Hemming , Liberal Democrat , Birmingham, Yardley
Mrs Sharon Hodgson , Labour , Gateshead East & Washington West
Mr Stewart Jackson , Conservative , Peterborough
Judy Mallaber , Labour , Amber Valley
Dr Doug Naysmith , Labour, Co/op Bristol North West
Mr Mark Prisk , Conservative , Hertford and Stortford
Mr Jamie Reed , Labour , Copeland
Mr Anthony Steen , Conservative , Totnes
Phil Wilson , Labour, Sedgefield

For further information on the work of the Committee, contact Liz Booth, Committee Assistant (020 7219 2837); or see the Committee's website