Regulatory Reform Committee press notice

1 April 2009 Session 2008-09

Draft Legislative Reform (Local Government) (Animal Health Functions) Order 2009


The draft Legislative Reform (Local Government) (Animal Health Functions) Order 2009 and Explanatory Document (ED) were laid before Parliament on 16 March 2009 under section 14(1) of the Legislative and Regulatory Reform Act 2006 (LRRA).

The purpose of the draft Order is to remove the current restriction on local authorities using each other's services for animal health provision, thereby allowing authorities without frequent need of such services to fulfill their statutory duties through arrangements with other authorities.

The Committee agrees with the proposals in the Order.

The Committee's assessment of the draft Order will be published as its Fourth Report of the 2008-09 Session at 2.00 pm on Thursday 2 April 2009. It will be available from Stationery Office outlets (Ref HC 399).

The text of the report will also be available on the Committee's website from 3.30 pm on the day of publication. (

Notes for Editors

The Regulatory Reform Committee is appointed to examine and report to the House on draft Legislative Reform Orders under the Legislative and Regulatory Reform Act 2006 and matters relating to regulatory reform. Its full remit is set out in S.O. No. 141.

The Members of the Committee are:

Andrew Miller , Labour , Ellesmere Port & Neston (Chairman)
Gordon Banks , Labour , Ochil and South Perthshire
Lorely Burt , Liberal Democrat, Solihull
Mr Quentin Davies , Labour, Grantham and Stamford
Mr James Gray , Conservative, North Wiltshire
John Hemming , Liberal Democrat, Birmingham, Yardley
Mrs Sharon Hodgson , Labour , Gateshead East & Washington West
Mr Stewart Jackson , Conservative , Peterborough
Judy Mallaber , Labour , Amber Valley
Dr Doug Naysmith , Labour Co/op , Bristol North West
Mr Mark Prisk , Conservative , Hertford and Stortford
Mr Jamie Reed , Labour, Copeland
Mr Anthony Steen , Conservative, Totnes
Phil Wilson , Labour, Sedgefield

For further information on the work of the Committee, contact Liz Booth, Committee Assistant (020 7219 2837); or see the Committee's website