Regulatory Reform Committee press notice

Session 2007-08                20 February 2008


The Regulatory Reform Committee is to undertake an inquiry into Getting Results:  The Better Regulation Executive and the Impact of the Regulatory Reform Agenda.  The terms of reference for the inquiry are as follows:

to assess the extent to which the Better Regulation Executive (BRE) has developed a coherent strategy for implementing regulatory reform; whether the BRE works effectively with other areas of government to implement regulatory reform initiatives; if the approach to measuring and reporting on performance and outcomes is sufficiently robust and whether the current approach to regulatory reform is delivering genuine results.

Written evidence is invited from all interested parties.  Memoranda should be as short as is commensurate with all relevant points being made.  They should be prefaced with a summary.  Copies should be sent to Liz Booth, Secretary / Committee Assistant, Regulatory Reform Committee, Delegated Legislation Office, House of Commons, 7 Millbank, London SW1P 3JA to be received by Tuesday 25 March at the latest.  A programme of oral evidence will be announced in due course.

Notes for Editors

The Regulatory Reform Committee is appointed to examine and report to the House on draft Legislative Reform Orders under the Legislative and Regulatory Reform Act 2006 and matters relating to regulatory reform.  Its full remit is set out in S.O. No. 141. 

The Members of the Committee are:

Andrew Miller , Labour , Ellesmere Port & Neston ( Chairman)
Gordon Banks , Labour , Ochil and South Perthshire
Lorely Burt , Liberal Democrat , Solihull
Mr Quentin Davies , Labour , Grantham and Stamford
Mr James Gray , Conservative , North Wiltshire
Stephen Hammond , Conservative , Wimbledon
John Hemming , Liberal Democrat , Birmingham, Yardley
Mrs Sharon Hodgson , Labour , Gateshead East & Washington West
Mr Stewart Jackson , Conservative , Peterborough
Judy Mallaber , Labour , Amber Valley
Dr Doug Naysmith , Labour, Co/op Bristol North West
Mr Jamie Reed , Labour , Copeland
Mr Anthony Steen , Conservative , Totnes
Phil Wilson , Labour , Sedgefield

For further information on the work of the Committee, contact Liz Booth, Secretary / Committee Assistant (020 7219 2837);  or see the Committee’s website