Regulatory Reform Committee press notice 14

Session 2006-07 14 June 2007

Publication of report: Draft Regulatory Reform (Game) Order 2007

The Regulatory Reform Committee has recommended unanimously that the Draft Regulatory Reform (Game) Order 2007 should be approved.

The purpose of the proposed Order is to amend legislation governing the issuing of licences for the killing, taking and sale of game in England and Wales to bring it up to date and make compliance less onerous. Amendments would be made to the Game Act 1831, the Game Licenses Act 1860 and the Deer Act 1991.

The proposed Order would:

€”Remove a requirement to hold a game licence to take or kill game;

€”Remove a requirement for a local authority licence and an excise licence in order to deal in game; and

€”Remove a restriction on dealing in game birds and venison during the close season, permitting sale all year round provided the game was lawfully killed.

Committee Chairman Andrew Miller said:

"This draft Order will remove burdens and restrictions. For example, the abolition of game licences required under the Game Act 1831 brings to an end a restriction on who could go hunting for food that has been in place for 176 years. Before 1831, hunting for game was restricted by rank or birth. With the Game Act 1831 restriction was then administered by cost, although the current fee for a licence (which costs between £2 and £6) has not been increased since 1968! In making this Order the Government will be removing this and other outmoded and unnecessary provisions from the statute book. This will be achieved while maintaining protection for game species and other wildlife in our countryside."

Andrew Miller added:

"My Committee is pleased to see the Government using the Regulatory Reform Act 2001 to update and improve the law with this Order. We look forward to seeing the first new draft Orders laid under the Legislative and Regulatory Reform Act 2006."

Notes for Editors

The Committee's full report is to be published as its Seventh Report of the 2006-07 Session at 2.00 pm on 14 June 2007. It will be available from all Stationery Office outlets (Ref HC 674).

The text of the report will also be available on the Committee's website from 3.30 pm on the day of publication. (

The Regulatory Reform Committee has the task of examining and reporting to the House on every document containing proposals laid before the House under section 6 of the Regulatory Reform Act and every draft order proposed to be made under section 1 of that Act. The Committee also oversees the operation of the regulatory reform procedure.

Since the passage of the Regulatory Reform Act, more than 30 regulatory reform orders have been made. Copies of all proposals and draft Orders are available on the Cabinet Office website at

The Members of the Committee are:

Andrew Miller, Labour, Ellesmere Port & Neston (Chairman)
Gordon Banks, Labour, Ochil and South Perthshire
Lorely Burt, Liberal Democrat, Solihull
Mr James Gray, Conservative, North Wiltshire
Stephen Hammond, Conservative, Wimbledon
John Hemming, Liberal Democrat, Birmingham, Yardley
Mrs Sharon Hodgson, Labour, Gateshead East & Washington West
Mr Stewart Jackson, Conservative, Peterborough
Dr Doug Naysmith, Labour Co/op, Bristol North West
Mr Jamie Reed, Labour, Copeland
Alison Seabeck, Labour, Plymouth, Devonport
Mr Andrew Slaughter, Labour, Ealing, Acton & Shepherd's Bush
Ms Angela C Smith, Labour Co/op, Sheffield, Hillsborough
Mr Anthony Steen, Conservative, Totnes

For further information on the work of the Committee, contact Mick Hillyard, Clerk of the Committee (020 7219 2830); or see the Committee's website