Regulatory Reform Committee press notice 11

Session 2006-07 12 June 2007

Publication of report: Draft Regulatory Reform (Financial Services and Markets Act 2000) Order 2007

The Regulatory Reform Committee has recommended unanimously that the Draft Regulatory Reform (Financial Services and Markets Act 2000) Order 2007 should be approved.

The Committee's full report is to be published as its Sixth Report of the 2006-07 Session at 2.00 pm on 14 June 2007. It will be available from all Stationery Office outlets (Ref HC 673).

The text of the report will also be available on the Committee's website from 3.30 pm on the day of publication. (

Notes for Editors

The Financial Services and Markets Act 2000 implemented a new regime for the regulation of financial services and markets, including the establishment of the Financial Services Authority as the sole, independent regulator. In 2003/4, HM Treasury undertook a two year review of the new regime, as a result of which a number of areas in need of reform were identified. The purpose of the proposed Order presented under the Regulatory Reform Act 2001 (RRA) is to reform wholesale and retail financial markets as part of a ten-point action plan of reforms set out in the Government's Pre-Budget Report 2005. The Government intends that the proposed Order will deal with a series of burdens and restrictions contained in the Financial Services and Markets Act 2000, resulting in a more streamlined approach to regulation.

The Regulatory Reform Committee has the task of examining and reporting to the House on every document containing proposals laid before the House under section 6 of the Regulatory Reform Act and every draft order proposed to be made under section 1 of that Act. The Committee also oversees the operation of the regulatory reform procedure.

Since the passage of the Regulatory Reform Act, more than 30 regulatory reform orders have been made. Copies of all proposals and draft Orders are available on the Cabinet Office website at

The Members of the Committee are:

Andrew Miller, Labour, Ellesmere Port & Neston (Chairman)
Gordon Banks, Labour, Ochil and South Perthshire
Lorely Burt, Liberal Democrat, Solihull
Mr James Gray, Conservative, North Wiltshire
Stephen Hammond, Conservative, Wimbledon
John Hemming, Liberal Democrat, Birmingham, Yardley
Mrs Sharon Hodgson, Labour, Gateshead East & Washington West
Mr Stewart Jackson, Conservative, Peterborough
Dr Doug Naysmith, Labour Co/op, Bristol North West
Mr Jamie Reed, Labour, Copeland
Alison Seabeck, Labour, Plymouth, Devonport
Mr Andrew Slaughter, Labour, Ealing, Acton & Shepherd's Bush
Ms Angela C Smith, Labour Co/op, Sheffield, Hillsborough
Mr Anthony Steen, Conservative, Totnes

For further information on the work of the Committee, contact Mick Hillyard, Clerk of the Committee (020 7219 2830); or see the Committee's website