RRC PN (2006-07) 07

Session 2006-07 28 March 2007

Publication of report: Proposal for the Regulatory Reform (Deer) (England and Wales) Order 2007

The proposal for the Regulatory Reform (Deer) (England and Wales) Order 2007 was laid before the House on 18 December 2006. The Committee recommends that the proposal should be amended before a draft Order is laid before the House.

The Committee's report is to be published as its Fourth Report of the 2006-07 Session at 2pm on 2 April 2007. It will be available from all Stationery Office outlets (Ref HC 411).

The text of the report will also be available on the Committee's website from 3.30 pm on the day of publication. (www.parliament.uk/regrefcom)

Notes for Editors

The proposed Order would make a series of amendments to the Deer Act 1991 with the aim of making it easier for individuals to take action to control the deer population in England and Wales. It would also introduce various new provisions to that Act which aim at the enhancement of deer welfare, including the establishment of close seasons for deer species which are currently not protected against killing at any time of year.

The Regulatory Reform Committee has the task of examining and reporting to the House on every document containing proposals laid before the House under section 6 of the Regulatory Reform Act and every draft order proposed to be made under section 1 of that Act. The Committee also oversees the operation of the regulatory reform procedure.

Since the passage of the Regulatory Reform Act, more than 30 regulatory reform orders have been made. Copies of all proposals and draft Orders are available on the Cabinet Office website at http://www.cabinetoffice.gov.uk/regulation/reform/orders/index.asp

The Members of the Committee are:

Andrew Miller, Labour, Ellesmere Port & Neston (Chairman)
Gordon Banks, Labour, Ochil and South Perthshire
Lorely Burt, Liberal Democrat, Solihull
Mr James Gray, Conservative, North Wiltshire
Stephen Hammond, Conservative, Wimbledon
John Hemming, Liberal Democrat, Birmingham, Yardley
Mrs Sharon Hodgson, Labour, Gateshead East & Washington West
Mr Stewart Jackson, Conservative, Peterborough
Dr Doug Naysmith, Labour Co/op, Bristol North West
Mr Jamie Reed, Labour, Copeland
Alison Seabeck, Labour, Plymouth, Devonport
Mr Andrew Slaughter, Labour, Ealing, Acton & Shepherd's Bush
Ms Angela C Smith, Labour Co/op, Sheffield, Hillsborough
Mr Anthony Steen, Conservative, Totnes

For further information on the work of the Committee, contact Mick Hillyard, Clerk of the Committee (020 7219 2830); or see the Committee's website www.parliament.uk/regrefcom