RRC PN (2005-06) 09

Session 2005-06 24 May 2006

Publication of report: Proposal for the Regulatory Reform (Registered Designs) Order 2006

The Regulatory Reform Committee has concluded that the proposal for the Regulatory Reform (Registered Designs) Order 2006 should be amended before a draft order is laid before the House.

The Committee's full report is to be published as its Fifth Report of the 2005-06 Session at 2.00 pm on Friday 26 May. It will be available from all Stationery Office outlets (Ref HC 1142).

The text of the report will also be available on the Committee's website from 3.30 pm on the day of publication. (www.parliament.uk/regrefcom)

Notes for Editors

The proposal for the Regulatory Reform (Registered Designs) Order 2006 was laid on 13 March 2006. Its purpose is to amend the Registered Designs Act 1949 to remove burdens on applicants for and owners of designs registered at the UK Design Registry. The Committee has reported that the proposed Order should be amended before a draft Order is laid before the House. The amendments that the Committee recommends would correct two minor instances of defective drafting, which are acknowledged by the Patent Office.

The Regulatory Reform Committee has the task of examining and reporting to the House on every document containing proposals laid before the House under section 6 of the Regulatory Reform Act and every draft order proposed to be made under section 1 of that Act. The Committee also oversees the operation of the regulatory reform procedure.

Since the passage of the Regulatory Reform Act, 27 regulatory reform orders have been made. Copies of all proposals and draft Orders are available on the Cabinet Office website at http://www.cabinet-office.gov.uk/regulation/rra/rro/proposals.asp

The Members of the Committee are:

Andrew Miller, Labour, Ellesmere Port & Neston (Chairman)
Gordon Banks, Labour, Ochil and South Perthshire
Lorely Burt, Liberal Democrat, Solihull
Mr James Gray, Conservative, North Wiltshire
Stephen Hammond, Conservative, Wimbledon
John Hemming, Liberal Democrat, Birmingham, Yardley
Mrs Sharon Hodgson, Labour, Gateshead East & Washington West
Mr Stewart Jackson, Conservative, Peterborough
Dr Doug Naysmith, Labour Co/op, Bristol North West
Mr Jamie Reed, Labour, Copeland
Alison Seabeck, Labour, Plymouth, Devonport
Mr Andrew Slaughter, Labour, Ealing, Acton & Shepherd's Bush
Ms Angela C Smith, Labour, Sheffield, Hillsborough
Mr Anthony Steen, Conservative, Totnes

For further information on the work of the Committee, contact Mick Hillyard, Clerk of the Committee (020 7219 2830); or see the Committee's website www.parliament.uk/regrefcom